Top 4 Most Irritating Things About the End of Fall Semester


end-of-semester The semester has gone by quickly, with only two weeks to go until this semester ends and winter break begins. The end of fall semester is rough, with the weather beginning to get increasingly colder and early nights making it seem like your homework is taking much longer than it really is. The week leading up to finals and finals week itself are stressful enough, but there are certain things about the end of fall semester that just combine with the stress of finals to make for lame situations. Below, I’ve made a list of the top 4 (I know most lists are 5, but I couldn’t think of a 5th. I could have just lied and said I like to be different like that, but I don’t want to lie to Most Honorable Readers) most irritating things about the end of the semester, that aren’t your finals.

4. There are strangers in your classes. Seriously, who are these people? By the 10th week in the semester, you pretty much recognize all the people in your classes. By this finals 2point, they’ve probably dwindled down to the dedicated few, the one’s who want their tuition’s worth of education. But suddenly, you walk into class, and nearly every desk is filled. What’s upsetting about these slackers, is they’ll come to the last lecture or two, do the final, and squeak through with a C-. It makes it feel like the A or B you’ve earned is degraded by the fact that someone else put in almost no effort, and they still passed the class. Granted, this doesn’t seem to happen in science classes, but in many social science classes, or lecture-heavy classes, this is often the case. And you know what else is annoying about these people? finals extra credit

3. These strangers are bombarding your teachers with pleas for extra credit. They haven’t been in class all semester, and now they’re begging the teacher for extra credit. Most of the time, professor’s won’t give in to such blatant point-seeking by these slackers, but sometimes they do, and shame on them. It’s not fair to the rest of the class who worked hard all semester, only to give the people who couldn’t be bothered to show up for the majority of the semester points to help their low grade. And not only are these slackers begging for points they shouldn’t get, they’re taking up the front row, and everyone who had been sitting there all semester has to accommodate them. Oh, and they’re not just taking up seats in class, either:

2. Finding a parking spot has become an exciting game of Hide-and-Seek, that you get to play in your car! It’s like the first week of the semester all over again!  Now that the slackers have returned, finding parking is a new and exciting source of stress.

It's gotten so bad, this is what we've had to resort to.

It’s gotten so bad, this is what we’ve had to resort to.

It suddenly takes, at a minimum, 30 minutes to find a parking spot. Oh, you were planning on using that 30 minutes to do some reading in your car before class? Sorry, you have to park in a spot 3/4 of a mile from your first class, because all the people who skipped out on class the entire semester are now deciding to come back to school. I see it every semester, and it will continue as long as professor’s let people who miss more than half the course pass.

1. Everyone is sick This year, I finally took my mom’s advice and got the flu shot, and I’m glad I did, because this is by far the worst thing about the end of fall semester. The weather is cold, people are focused on finals and projects, and they’re not taking care of themselves. Suddenly, they get the flu, or the cold, or whooping cough, and decide to push on and keep attending class. These people are like martyrs of the cold season, determined to make it to school No Matter What. I realize I just spent more than half the post complaining about people who don’t come to class, but these people are the opposite of the slackers, and really should stay home, email their teachers, and set up another time to take their final. Your finals are not more important than the health of all the

Seriously, just stay home.

Seriously, just stay home.

people in your classes. One semester, I was taking a final in a classroom that had long tables instead of desks, and I was seated in the middle of the table. The class was packed, save for one empty seat- right next to me. About ten minutes into the final, this guy who looked like he’d been attacked by Slimer from Ghostbusters sat right next to me. He was hacking and sucking up his nose the entire final. He had to breathe through his mouth because his nose was so clogged, and his breath reeked. I couldn’t even focus on my final, I was both grossed out and worried for my own health. I didn’t want to, but I hurried through my final, and thankfully I passed the class. I learned an important lesson that day, and it was to never come to class when you are that ill.

 

There you have, it, my top 4 irritating things about the end of fall semester! If you like my posts, then you’ll definitely enjoy my radio show on kssu.com, Technical Difficulties every Wednesday at 5 pm! Tune in anytime to hear awesome music!

One response to “Top 4 Most Irritating Things About the End of Fall Semester

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Most Irritating Habits of College Students | KSSU The Blog·

Leave a Reply

