My Most Favoritest Class :D


Once the teacher tells us to get these out, the class is out of control

Originally, I was considering becoming a music major, but I ended up going to an orientation session for undecided majors, so I had no idea how to even begin to get into it.  My orientation leaders didn’t know much about anything.  I was left to fend for myself and so virtually blindly, I ended up signing up for “Beginning Music”.  Perfect.  Three credits, fulfills a GE requirement and a step in the musical direction if I choose to take that path.  Right?

Not quite.  On the first day of class, the syllabus claimed that this class was NOT credit for music majors.  Great.  I was beginning to think that this may not have been the best idea after all.  It was only a pointless music theory class.  What was I doing here?  How far behind would this set me back?  Should I just drop now and add a more substantial class?

After my dreams of becoming a music major were mercilessly crushed by the department advisor (a story I’ll save for another time), I lost even more faith in the class.  I already knew how to play piano and guitar, so the scales and the notes were nothing new to me.  I was learning nothing and wasting my time on a worthless class that was getting me nowhere.  I didn’t do the homework because it was never collected and I already knew everything.

But one night I got bored.  Bored to tears.  And I hadn’t done so well on a note-reading quiz.  I’m not going to lie to you, as far as music is concerned, reading it is probably my greatest weakness.  And so, out of my boredom and fear of failing sprung an ACTUAL attempt to do my homework.  And you know what, the next quiz I took, I passed.  Hell, I got nearly a hundred percent.  And my midterm was easy!

Another thing I forgot to mention was that we are learning how to play recorders.  At first I thought, “I did that in first grade!  Recorders are for babies!”  I won’t lie, the sound of a recorder is hideous.  but today I found myself almost having fun as we did some exercises with them, especially since I actually know how to read music now, since I actually did the homework.

Beginning music isn’t a bad class.  And it is good for one thing: entertainment.

The three credits and fulfillment of a GE requirement are nice, too.

Leave a Reply

