Movie Review: The Muppets


I’ve started to notice a pattern in my reviews. I only post reviews of things I absolutely adore.

That being said, hop onto Fandango and buy your tickets for The Muppets.

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/.a/6a00d8341c630a53ef01539381d59e970b-600wi

Often a reboot of a once beloved franchise falls flat. It may not be able to capture the charm that the original had, or society may just not care anymore. (I’m looking at you Smurfs.) I’m proud to say that The Muppets bring the fun and energy of the original Muppet Show and transfer it nicely onto the silver screen.

If you’re looking for a movie that everyone will enjoy The Muppets is that movie. It has songs to keep kids happy, and the tongue in cheek presentation of those songs hat never takes itself too seriously to entertain older folk. Plus there’s Muppet wackiness that everyone gets a kick out of.

Celebrity cameos are abundant. While watching the film I started to play a sort of I Spy game with myself to see how many celebrities I could spot and identify. Some notables are Willie Nelson, Neil Patrick Harris, Jack Black, Ken Jeong, Sarah Silverman, Jim Parsons, Zach Galifanakis, Donald Glover, David Grohl, and John Krasinski.

To sum up the plot in one sentence: The Muppets must perform a telethon in order to save the old Muppet Studios from being demolished. And this film really is about the Muppets. Don’t let Amy Adams and Jason Segel being on all the posters make you think this is a movie about them with Muppets sprinkled throughout, they’re more of a plot device to progress the story more than anything. But they still do a great job in their respective roles. (The script was actually written by Segel, and I applaud him for a job well done.)

Definitely worth it to go see The Muppets as soon as possible, you won’t regret it.

And if you’d like to discuss with me this review, the movie, or anything in general you can either tweet @ScottLoco or listen to my wonderful show and call in! Friday’s at 1PM, Scott’s Ska Talk! With me, Scott Loco! Not sure what ska is? Tune in and find out!

Leave a Reply

