My most favoritest Christmas movie EVERRRR!!!


In my family it’s been a tradition for several years now, in the month of December, to sit down together and watch Jim Carrey’s “How The Grinch Stole Christmas”.  We all have the movie memorized and quote lines back to each other, most notably, “I’ll hunt you down and gut you like a fish!” It’s become one of my favorite things about the whole holiday season.

This movie is basically a modernized and grown-up yet still family-friendly version of the Dr. Seuss cartoon that first aired in 1966, song and all.  Only here, Mr. Grinch has a childhood rivalry, a flair for practical jokes and a love interest.  We learn more about why he retreated to the dump on Mr. Crumpit, and why he hates the Whos and Christmas so much.  He’s not just a silly antagonist who learns his lesson, but a relateable anti-hero with a traumatizing past.

That said, it sounds as if it’s the drama of the century.  Far from it.  It’s a hilarious reinvention of an old Holiday favorite.  Jim Carrey is joined with Taylor Momsen, Jeffrey Tambor, Christine Baranski, Bill Irwin, Molly Shannon and Clint Howard, with narration by Anthony Hopkins.  It was also directed by Ron Howard.  With all that talent crammed into one movie, it’s hard to go wrong.

I actually remember seeing this movie in the theatre when it first came out.  My parents surprised me and my then year-old sister back in late 2000.  My sister actually didn’t make too much of a fuss.  I was 7.  It’s hard to believe that movie’s been with us for that long….or that I’m really that old.

Our street back in my hometown has been for a decade very into Christmas lights displays.  A few years back, we decided we didn’t want to just do some random lights strung up on the house.  Instead we did a Grinch theme, complete with murals my mom painted and a Grinch-themed soundtrack my dad provided.

I think Mr. Grinch is something that will always be a very fond memory from my childhood.  He symbolizes not only the true meaning of Christmas, but some of my fondest Christmas memories.  This is a movie I’ll pass down to my own children one day.

Leave a Reply

