Movie Review: The Muppets


I love the Muppets. Now I’m not referring to this movie just yet, but the Muppets in general. Growing up I watched the VHS tapes of the all the movies from the first one all the way to ‘Muppets In Space’, now there is a new theatrical movies known simply as ‘The Muppets’. This movie is a nice homage to the original Muppets Movie. They have a few references to it and the comedy style, although perhaps not as low-key witty, was still there. This movie, as the original features a plethora of celebrity guests, from Jack Black and Dave Grohl to Mickey Rooney and Sarah Silverman. Although it was nice to have this array of celebrities, I feel they were not properly utilized as they were so masterfully in the first one, watch Steve Martins performance in the first movie, #tremendous. The plot in this movie has been criticized for a veiled political motives, the main villain is an evil oil tycoon, I would counter this by saying even the first one was just as poignant, where the villain was a fast food tycoon. The plot, Jason Segal, his Muppet brother Walter and Amy Adams go to Hollywood and uncover a dastardly plot the oil tycoon plans to tear down the Muppet Theater. The Muppets long disbanded must raise 10 million dollars to save the theater. Wackiness ensues as the main characters try to get the Muppets back together. What I will applaud this movie for is how they can make things so emotionally heavy simply with these puppets. Many songs were sung, some okay, some not so much. The only real falter is that sometimes the voices just sound to off. Jim Henson and Frank Oz are really missed. What’s interesting that in the movie they have trouble getting a TV special deal simply for the fact that they are too old and not popular any more. Ah, sometimes fiction matches reality; it’s a terrible world we live in where Twilight beats out The Muppets in the box office. This movie is a great send off to the legacy of the Muppets and they are just as hilarious as ever. Great for children and parents alike, a great way to get your kids interested in the original series and movies, all of which are available on DVD. Checks out this move, hopefully the voices don’t bug you.

Tune in to my radio show the Pumpkin Patch Mondays 5-6 at KSSU.com (subject to change)

Comments

  1. Longtime Muppet fans will undoubtedly have more fun than young ones, but for the most part, it’s a witty, delightful romp, that shows you that you can still be funny, without ever being mean still in 2011. Good review.

Trackbacks

  1. […] The Muppets is seriously it’s own blog in itself. A great strategy and having watched the film recently myself, I liked it.  I still prefer the earlier versions but that has probably got to d owith my childhood connection to it and the buzz I had watching the celebrities and how funny they were interacting. I guess as we get older, we don’t see it as much as thrill, still exciting though. In researching this blog article, I came across another blog about The Muppet Movie, which held similar views to me so for another read, see the link below by Pumpkin Patch 1212. […]

  2. […] The Muppets is seriously it’s own blog in itself. A great strategy and having watched the film recently myself, I liked it. I still prefer the earlier versions but that has probably got to do with my childhood connection to it and the buzz I had watching the celebrities and how funny they were interacting. I guess as we get older, we don’t see it as much as thrill, still exciting though. In researching this blog article, I came across another blog about The Muppet Movie, which held similar views to me so for another read, see the link below by Pumpkin Patch 1212. […]

Leave a Reply

