Music Review: Wallpaper. in Concert – December 30th, 2011


Music Review: Wallpaper. in Concert – December 30th, 2011
By: Josue “Josh” Alvarez Mapp (a.k.a. DJ Mappquest)

 On December 30th, 2011, I had the great pleasure of returning to a location I never knew I was already at.  Since my time attending Sacramento State, I have heard of Ace of Spades.  Little did I know 1417 R St, Sacramento, CA use to be Empire, a club my friends and I traveled to from my old community college in Stockton.  But yes, Ace of Spades has been bring tons of shows to Sacramento and it has been awesome.  I have just been so busy that I haven’t been able to attend.  But not this past week I wasn’t!  As an avid Wallpaper. fan, I had to be there.  And I was.  Before Wallpaper., Chaotic Fusion opened up the show, followed by Los Rakas.

Chaotic Fusion is a drummer-dj combo featuring !nkDup and DJ Oasis.  I had never heard of them before but it was a solid act.  DJ Oasis was spinning and scratching various hip hop, pop, dubstep, and more genres of songs, sometimes scratching, mashing, and more while !nkDup smashed along with it creating a very interesting sound, or should I say a “chaotic fusion” (see what I did there?).  It was interesting to say the least.  I guess the best part of that was my girlfriend going crazy and dancing along.  The other best part was this young kid (no older than like 5 or 6) sitting on his dad’s shoulders with a hoodie on a singing the lyrics.  #Thuglife

The second act following Chaotic Fusion was Los Rakas.  A duo of rappers who are Oakland-based, but are actually from Panama (the country with the canal, you know).  Needless to say, I got super stoked when I heard they were from Panama seeing as I myself am half Panamanian.  These two, plus Nima Fadavi (DJ/producer), created an intense amount of energy in the crowd.  They stated themselves at the end that probably not many knew what they were saying (but I did), but who cares?!  The beats were great anyways, and their energy clearly rubbed off on everyone else in the crowd.  They sang songs of theirs like “Borracho”, “Soy Raka”, and another song from “Chancletas y Camisetas Bordada”, their latest EP.

The main act, of course, was Wallpaper.  I loved the band’s outfit.  Straight up swag.  Baby blue jackets with the penguin coat tail, tux shirt, bow ties, black pants, and nice shoes – classy.  From the first moment they hit the stage, it was high energy.  The crowd was even more energetic than before. The set list started with Shotgun.  The second song I did not recognize (shame on me right?  I know.  Still pissed.  I think I was more excited and going along with the vibe rather than fully analyze all the details).  Wallpaper. went on to play “Getting Drip,” “DDD,” “2 Pair of Shades,” “T REX,” “I Got Soul, I’m So Wasted,” “Okay,” “Trouble,” “F****** Best Song Everrr,” and “#STUPIDFACEDD.”

Also during the concert, the band took a quick break while Ricky Reed and Novena sang a rendition of Prince’s “1999.”  It was pretty cool I must say.

I loved every moment of the concert.  Well worth it.  Don’t know any of these bands?  Here:
Chaotic Fusion
Los Rakas
Wallpaper.

And for those interested in other events Ace of Spades is offering, just check out their website for all the details.

My radio show, Genre Roulette, returns to regular KSSU times (every Friday, 3 PM to 5 PM) starting January 6th.  Check out Genre Roulette for music of any and all sorts, including Wallpaper. and Los Rakas (and Chaotic Fusion if I can get some tracks from them).

Leave a Reply

