My Playlist for Valentine’s Day.


I like to think I’m date-able; that I’m cute, funny, charismatic, interesting, intelligent, and that my body’s not bad either.

But for some odd reason, I am always, ALWAYS alone on Valentine’s Day.

I mean, I guess it’s not really my fault.  Any other time of the year there is a good chance I have a man.  But I’ve never had a relationship ON Valentine’s Day.  Maybe it’s just bad luck, or maybe it’s a sign of something else.

But who cares about February 14th, anyway?  All it does is guilt guys into spending money on their women who are never quite satisfied with the way the day turns out anyway.  Think about it.  How many times have you heard, “That was the best Valentine’s Day ever!”  Very rarely.  Things always go wrong because people are always pressured to make things extra special, when all it is is yet another chance for businesses to get back into the black.

I always say that life is better with a soundtrack, so I’ve comprised a playlist for my Valentine’s Day:

  1. “Death To Your Heart”–Blood On The Dance Floor.  This is a great middle-finger salute with a violent twist and a beat that will have you dancing until you bleed…on the dance floor.  See what I did there?
  2. “Don’t Stay”–Linkin Park.  Angry and bitter.  Great for a recent breakup.
  3. “Roses”–Outkast.  Also very bitter.  A little more mature than Linkin Park but great after a harsh rejection.
  4. “To The End”–My Chemical Romance.  A very bleak look on matrimony.  If you have a fear of commitment or just came out of a divorce, this is the song for you.
  5. “Crying Blood”–V V Brown.  This song is a great find because not only is it a great vintage track, but it proves that black musicians don’t always have to sing R&B.  Deceptively upbeat, but the lyrics reveal its true colors.
  6. “The Betrayal”–Attack Attack!.  Okay, it’s metal, and some pretty harshy screamy metal at that, but if you found out your partner was cheating on you, I think you might want to scream, too.  That’s not what the song is about, but it can be interpreted that way.
  7. “Paper Gangsta”–Lady Gaga.  For all those who don’t feel like being taken advantage of, this is the track for you.  Perhaps Gaga’s angriest track, we can see her strong, sassy side.  Listen to this if you don’t need a man.
  8. “Whatever”–Gnarls Barkley.  Whenever I hear anything that Cee Lo Green’s been involved with, I like to think of him as a poor unfortunate soul.  This track is no different.  For those out there who are trying your best not to care about how hurt you are.
  9. “A Little Piece Of Heaven”–Avenged Sevenfold.  These guys do NOT LET GO.  Warning: stong references to necrophilia.  But then, if you’ve seen the video, you already know what it’s all about.  A bit of a morbid take on a dysfunctional relationship.
  10. “Reminds Me Of You”–LMFAO feat. Calvin Harris.  We all have had those nights where we go out to drink or party or dance, just to forget about a breakup, and it’s never quite successful.  Redfoo and Sky Blue get that.
  11. “This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race”–Fall Out Boy.  For those of you who seem to have fallen under the romantic radar.
  12. “Room 409”–Bullet For My Valentine.  There is a special place in my heart for screamo, especially anything correlating to heartbreak.  “I LOVED YOU!  YOU HURT ME!  I LOVED YOU!  YOU! HURT! ME! BAAAAADDDD!!!!”
  13. “Prove Me Wrong”–Mindless Self Indulgence.  Kind of a “because of you I don’t trust anyone, but I’d make an exception for you” kind of song.  Conflicted feelings make some of the most dimensional music.
  14. “I Have To Go Return Some Videotapes”–Breathe Carolina.  Based on the movie “American Psycho”.  If you are a psychotic ex, you will relate well to this one.  Crank it up as you stab your former boyfriend in their sleep.

If nothing else, I’ll have some pretty sweet music.  And sometimes, that’s all you need.  “It’s the music that we choose”, as Gorillaz would say.

And who knows.  This year I may be pleasantly surprised.

I’m DJ Selenium and my show, Party Rock Shock, is Wednesdays at 4pm PST on kssu.com.  For more information about me or my show, Just follow me on Twitter and Tumblr, Subscribe to me on YouTube, and join my group on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

