Raising Hope


I would say I had it easy growing up as a kid.  My brother had the chores really.  My chore?  Do good in school.  I never had to do the dishes (though I did every here and there).  I never had to take out the trash, make my bed, etc.  I did have to keep my room relatively clean and kept’ish.  It was a good life.

I have yet to have kids of my own, but I’ve heard quite a bit.  A friend of mine who use to be my advisor in my youth group teaches at an elementary school in my town.  He told me how many of his students have smartphones.  These are kids under the age of 12 with Android and iOS devices!  Some could be cheap, but if they were rocking Razr’s or iPhone’s, those are costly items.  I still wonder why they need such an advanced device really.  All they need is a simple phone to call and receive calls from the family and friends (maybe include SMS too I guess).

But that is life, at least in the past 100 years.  The next generation gets more than the last.  Like I sometimes wonder how my parents made it by without Google (research papers seem so much more difficult without the advent of the internet).

Still, I was raised with certain values.  I was for the most part respectful to my parents and other adults.  I played nice with other kids.  I never dreamed of blasting my parents on places like Myspace or LiveJournal, even though my parents didn’t check me up on those places.  I may have said some bad things to my friends, but that’s what you talk about sometimes when you are in K-12.

A father disciplined his daughter because she put her parents on blast [on Facebook]…twice!  This has caused a stir among people.  Some people say well done!  Others say that was a waste (he should have sold the laptop or hid it for longer).  Others say that was too far and his daughter may be scarred or more from all of this.

I would say I’m generally liberal on social issues, but this is one of those where I am not.  I, myself, have been grounded.  I went months without TV, computer, etc.  But I learned my lesson and never made the same mistake twice.  The same can’t be said for everyone though.  Lessons have to be learned though.  Some may question the father’s tactics, but the lesson was loud and clear I would think.  Even as a teenager I think I would get it (after being pissed for days on end).  There is something about seeing what you take for granted in shambles to gets the point across.

I have joked with my parents that when I have kids that I will teach them the lesson of a dollar; the value of things.  They would have to earn smartphones, tablets, laptops, etc. through good childship (Not a word but ah well.  They’d have to be an exemplary child is what I am trying to get at).  Keep the attitude down, do well in school, and keep your room orderly.  How to teach the lesson is never a constant.  Every child is different.  But still, the lesson must be learned.

Leave a Reply

