What I would pack on a 30 Day rural trip to Australia


While packing for the trip to Australia, I know I would have to pack for something similar to a survival pack that I would have setup for myself at home. I would have a duffel bag with Camp shoes, waterproof shoes and sleeping bag, and something to keep me warm at night. I would also know to bring enough clothes in layers, have toiletries, non-breakable bottles, and reading and drawing materials to record things. I would also bring a camera, extra batteries, gloves, insect repellant, different first aid items, binoculars, and possible a personal water filter. I would also know to bring different types of area maps and a compass. I would also bring food that I can store easily and that will hold for long periods of time, as well as a large scale knife or riffle to defend myself and to hunt with.


Based off of the information I learned in class, I would notice that the climate of Australia varies widely, but the largest part of Australia is desert: 40% of the landmass is covered by sand dunes. Only the south-east and south-west corners have a temperate climate and moderately fertile soil. The northern part of the country has a tropical climate, which varies between tropical rainforests, grasslands, and partial desert. So with that I mind, that is why I decided the camp shoes and waterproof shoes would be essential due to the climate changes. The non-breakable bottles would be used to keep water sanitized, as well as be used as other good resources in climate changes.
Also to be noted, rainfall is highly unpredictable, with frequent droughts lasting several seasons, which is caused in part by the El Niño-Southern unpredictability. Occasionally, a dust storm will blanket a region or even several states, and there are occasional large tornadoes. Rising levels of salinity and desertification in some areas is destroying the landscape there as well. For this reason, I would choose to make sure that I have brought the area maps and  binoculars, as well a sleeping bag for the landscape cover at nightfall.
Australia’s tropical/subtropical locations and cold waters off the western coast make most of Western Australia a hot desert with droughts, a feature of the larger part of the continent. These cold waters produce moisture needed on the mainland. The rainfall patterns across Australia are highly seasonal. Compared to the Earth’s other continental landmasses, Australia is very dry. There are four main factors that contribute to the dryness of the Australian landmass: Cold ocean currents off the west coast, low elevation of landforms, dominance of high-pressure systems, and the shape of the landmass. So because the earth is so dry and tropical as well, I would bring the personal water filter just in case I am at a point of wanting clarity in my water supply. The clothes in layers also help with the changing weather conditions. A first aid kit along with any other needed medications will help aid me in the temperature, climate and land mass changes. The insect repellant will be especially beneficial when I  come to the rainy and tropical land features of the continent, as flies and insects become a problem in standing water, and the repellant can be my best friend when it comes to the desert.
A low rate of evaporation from the very cool body of water around it (Antarctica) results in little evaporation. As a result, rain clouds are sparingly formed, and very rarely do they form long enough for a nonstop period of rain. Australia’s dry/semi- barren zone extends to this region. The lack of any large mountain range or area of substantial height above sea level also results in very little rainfall. For this reason, I would not need to really dress for rain or pack an umbrella because the rainfall happens very sparingly and probably won’t be that much of a bother. This is also why I would bring a knife or rifle; because of the lack of large masses it is easier to hunt and to visualize prey.

Leave a Reply

