Fred Durst and YMCMB?


Image

I know I’m a little late on this here but it still confuses me. Fred Durst, of nu-metal group Limp Bizkit fame, is signed to Young Money Cash Money Business as an artist? Lil’ Wayne and Birdman made a real reach on this one. I know that music moguls are always trying to sign diverse and up and coming artist, but Fred Durst? Really? I remember Limp Bizkit being one of the biggest bands of my elementary schools days when TRL ruled the air waves, but since then ego and money led to their downfall. I didn’t even know  Fred Durst was still in music or even had music industry friends. Limp Bizkit collaborated with hip hop artists in the past, such as Method Man, Redman, DMX and Xzibit, but haven’t been relevant since the early 2000′s. At first I thought it was a joke, but lo and behold, its legit.

I’m all for artists making comebacks and being relevant again, but not at this cost. Lil’ Wayne and the Young Money camp are vastly different than the older hip hop acts that Durst is accustomed to working with. To me it sounds like a desperate money-grab attempt by Durst to gain some fame back, and a ploy by the New Orleans-based label to see if Durst can still pull that cross-over audience. I’m a big hip-hop and rap fan, but this move really bugs me. I used to be a Limp Bizkit fan when I was younger but I was glad that their time passed. If I wanted to relive the late 90′s I’ll watch Vh1 Classic, not the new Fred Durst video.

I hope all works out for Fred and his shot at a comeback, but nu-metal is dead and its sad that Birdman, Bryan Williams, OK-d this deal. This move is more of a headscratcher than when Gucci Mane got an Ice Cream cone tattooed on his forehead. Like I said, don’t be a “hater,” but some things are better left alone. I don’t understand the value in bringing in a former rock star to a rap label that features mostly new acts, except for Mystikal and Busta Rhymes. It will certainly be interesting to see how this pans out for both sides, I just don’t want to hear the music. I have a feeling that its going to be the same old Bizkit with a Lil’ Wayne layer of whatever he’s doing at the moment. But who knows, it will certainly be interesting to see how much, if any, new material comes out of this new marriage.

This is Dj Tre, hit me up on twitter @Justint_Djtre and check out my show only on kssu.com Tuesdays from 5-6 PM.

Peace out and be easy

Leave a Reply

