Teaching How to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse


Teaching How to Survive
the Zombie Apocalypse

By: Josue “Josh” Alvarez Mapp(a.k.a. DJ Mappquest)

Ever since I heard (rumor or not) that Michigan State University is going to offer a class this fall semester on how to survive the zombie apocalypse, I have been stoked.  I could easily teach this class (either at my old community college, Delta College or at Sacramento State, or both).  Ask any of my friends and anyone who has been around me during any phase of my college career.  I have had many zombie apocalypse fans.  I am also addicted to the concept of zombies, possible or impossible.

Let me get this straight, I am not sure if the possibility exists for zombies.  However, it is an idea one should not joke about.  It is one of those things that if you are prepared, than if it ever does occur, cool.  If it never occurs, then it is as useless as everything else we learned, like cursive.

How does one teach a semester’s worth on the zombie apocalypse?  Easy. A quarter to a third of the semester is strictly lecture.  There is many things to discuss and teach and point out.  For example, how would the zombie apocalypse start?  How do you know it has started?  What do you do when it starts?  What do you do if the zombie apocalypse goes on for more than a few weeks?  How do you survive, in the long run, in a zombie apocalypse?  These are all questions that have many different answers (as well as many different wrong answers).

The class should obviously have Max Brooks The Zombie Survival Guide as its book.  Easily the single, foremost book to read.  If another book is necessary, World War Z.  The class would have a lot of small writings.  The writing would be so frequent that it reminds me of my writing intensive course here at Sacramento State.  The class should also include many movies, but not limited to, titles like: Zombieland (must have for its rules), Dawn of the Dead, Resident Evil (only 1 and 2 will do, maybe 3), 28 Days Later and 28 Weeks Later, The Crazies, Quarantine, and I Am Legend.  Since there are so many films, probably clips of these will suffice.  Video games would also play a part, of course, and thus in class game play of Left 4 Dead, Resident Evil, and Dead Island would also be included (again not all the titles but some of the easiest to attain for “educational” purposes).

Every week (or other week) a two-three page paper would be due on what they’ve learned, and the class would have a term paper that would serve as their final: “What is your zombie apocalypse plan?”  Not sure what I am talking? Check this out.

Easily, one of the best classes that could ever be taught.  It would also bring up philosophical and ethical questions about life and humanity and actions people would/could take in the zombie apocalypse.  Yeah, I can teach that.  Easily.  Epicly.  Since I go to Sacramento State, I would teach it there for free as long as I can put it down on my resume.

Class or no class, everyone should prepare, just in case.

Listen to DJ Mappquest every Wednesday 5 PM to 7 PM on KSSU.com.  Various talk, news, and music of all sorts.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Teaching How to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse (kssunews.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

