Avatar: The Last Airbender Movie Review Preview


As some may be aware, I am a huge fan of the series “Avatar: The Last Airbender.” I like to think of myself as a resident expert, therefore qualified to judge and comment on this film. After the first teaser to the movie was shown I followed the happenings of the movie and had mixed feelings about it from the start. I didn’t think the movie would be good. However I really wanted it to be. The show, which aired on Nicktoons, is a modern masterpiece and is a prime example how the medium of animation and television can tell a story just as dramatically as any novel. The characters are well developed, the pacing in the three seasons is magnificent, and the world created is vast and full of imagery. For those of you not familiar with the series I highly recommend watching it, marathon style if you can, as the story is continuous and should be viewed as such.

Also released was one season of a sequel show: “The Legend of Korra.” This show takes place 70 years after the events of the original show. And this first season of an expected four did a great job of advancing the “Avatar” world, while retaining much of the feeling of the original series. “The Legend of Korra” held its own in the first season with very minor flaws. It now too is being reported that a movie may be made.

So I have watched “The Last Airbender” movie by M.Night Shamalan three times now. Every time I am disappointed, although a little less on my most recent viewing. So, in part two of this “Avatar: The Last Airbender” movie review, I will do a point by point review, and try to stay positive.

Tune in to KSSU.com Sacramento State’s Student Run Radio! And my show: The Pumpkin Patch

Jack O’ Lantern

Leave a Reply

