Sights of Stockton


I was born in Stockton.  I have lived in Stockton for 21 of my 26 years of life.  The 5 years I wasn’t there, I lived in Germany with my family while my dad was stationed there with the U.S. Army.  But aside from that, I have lived my life in Stockton.  Going through high school, I spoke nothing but ill words about my hometown.  I spoke of it to outsiders as if it added to my “street cred.”  I often gloated at how dangerous it was in comparison to other cities like Detroit and Oakland.

But then I graduated.  I attended San Joaquin Delta College in Stockton.  Slowly but sure my angst against my hometown subsided and I began to love the amenities, the memories and more the city meant and provided for me.  I came to defend her in conversations with friends and strangers.

Stockton has definitely received a lot of attention from the media.  Forbes helped in ranking in in the top 20 of Most Miserable Cities.  I am not sure, but I would think many people in the Stockton have come to expect Stockton on the list.  One of the few things that hurts Stockton (there are quite a few issues) is its crime, which is also recognized nationally.  On the other side, there has been various movements to revitalize the reputation and civic pride, such as the Stockton is Magnificent movement.

Lately I have been spending my time in Sacramento attending Sacramento State University.  However, I love coming home and enjoying a trip around to see my city.  In my experiences in Sacramento, many say “Oh I’m sorry” or “Oh really?!”  Part of the issue, in my opinion, is I don’t think people see enough, if any, of Stockton to know.

Well I have an idea that I would like to do at some point.  If someone else is reading this and you like it, knock yourself out.  At some point I want to do a blog dedicated to Stockton called “Sights of Stockton.”  I want to take pictures of Stockton and upload them.  No perfectly framed shots -just Stockton in its purity, as it is when I see it.  To me, Stockton is just another city.  It has its woes, but it has upsides too.  I love this city.  One day I will hopefully serve the city in some capacity.  But until then, I want to do something.  I will do this at some point.  We will see.

For those of you Stocktonians out there reading this, use the #sightsofstockton tag on Twitter and Instagram.  That’s my idea.  May be lame but ah well.  Stockton isn’t as bad as people think.  Stockton sometimes has more than its fair share of misfortunes sometimes, but that just adds to the character and development of the city.  How the people of Stockton respond to that is where the true colors comes out from.

Tune in to DJ Mappquest on KSSU.com twice a week!  Tuesdays at 6 PM for sports talk and Fridays at 5 PM for music, technology, politics, and more!

Comments

  1. sjchevalier07 says:

    Great piece as always! And I agree, Stockton isn’t as bad as people think it is. I’ve a few times there this year and haven’t had many problems with anyone or anything. I even had a couple people help me with directions when I got lost one time going the wrong way on a one-way street.

    I think the reason people who don’t live there are down on it is because on television or even in print media there are very few positive stories about Stockton therefore they think it’s a horrible place when it really isn’t as bad as it seems. Sure, there are parts that aren’t so quaint and lovely,but what place isn’t like that? Stockton really hasn’t had a fair shake in a long time.

  2. Not to hijack this thread, but I’d like to find out if I can have a personal injury claim and I can’t figure out how to find a professional, low cost lawyer… have you ever heard of this lawyer? They’re located in Stockton, CA near my son’s school and I can’t find reviews on them – Law Offices of David Barzaga, 1151 West Robinhood Drive Stockton, CA 95207 (209) 474-3710.

Leave a Reply

