Maloofs Have One Foot Out The Door


The Maloofs have reached a tentative deal with the city of Virgina Beach to build a new arena.

Shocker.

According to Sactown Royalty,  Virginia Beach mayor Will Sessoms has reached a deal with Comcast to build a new arena in the area, and will ask the Virginia Beach City Council for $150 million to fund the Kings relocation.

Let the bums leave.

I’m tired of this back and forth game between the Maloofs and the city of Sacramento.First we’re on our way to Anaheim. Then we’re staying in Sacramento and building a new arena downtown. Then the Maloofs back out of the deal and flirt with Seattle. Now Virginia Beach has emerged as a front-runner in the Sacramento Kings fire sale. Just get it over with and get the hell out of town. I’ve already emotionally detached myself from this team after our first “last game” in Sacramento. That was the last straw for me. I’ve already comprised a list of teams that could potentially fill the hole the Kings have left in my heart:

1. Detroit Pistons
You’re probably reading this and wondering why the Pistons are on the top of my list. Personally, I’m still wondering this myself. I suppose it’s the nice core of Brandon Knight, Rodney Stuckey, and Greg Monroe. They’re a young, talented team that could be on the rise in the Eastern Conference. If they can develop their bench and keep the veteran presence of Tayshaun Prince around a little longer, they could be nice in a couple of years.

2. New York Knicks
I’ve been a supporter of the Knicks since that magical 1999 playoff run. I was astonished how an 8th seed could make it all the way to the NBA Finals, especially since it was the first time that ever happened. Patrick Ewing, Larry Johnson, and Allan Houston were really exciting for me to watch as a child, and I’ve stuck with them ever since. Though Jarred Jeffries, Stephon Maubury, Eddy Curry, Tracy McGrady, and Isiah Thomas running the team into the ground with his TURRIBLE front office moves and bad coaching. It’s looking much brighter in the Big Apple these days. They have the right coach in Mike Woodson, a super star in Carmelo Anthony, and a healthy supporting cast including Tyson Chandler, J.R. Smith, Steve Novak, Raymond Felton, and Amar’e Stoudmire (when healthy).

3. Denver Nuggets
I don’t have any personal ties to this team; I simply couldn’t find a more appealing squad. I suppose the Nuggets have a nice roster. Ty Lawson is emerging as a wonderful PG, JaVale McGee is constant comedic relief, but somehow finds a way to contribute crucial minutes to the team. Kenneth Farried is going to be an All-Star in this league, and it could happen as soon as this season. His effort and intensity is unmatched in the NBA and its astounding to see how much of a motor he has in only his second season. Sometimes, he looks like a man amongst boys on the court, especially on the offensive glass.

I would pick the Miami Heat because Lebron is my favorite player and has been since Chris Webber retired. I just would rather not deal with the constant accusations of being a “bandwagon” fan; the worst thing you could possibly be called as a sports fan. I could never be a Laker fan. No. Just no.

There are some other local teams like the Warriors, but their fan base makes my stomach crawl, and the Blazers have never appealed to me ever. Well, maybe during the “Portland Jailblazers” era. That was pretty entertaining.

And then there’s the Los Angeles Clippers. Sure the “Lob City” thing is pretty cool and Lamar Odom is not in a Lakers uniform but outside of that, I don’t find much else appealing. I’d rather take Rajon Rondo or Deron Williams before Chris Paul. Nothing personal against CP3, I just don’t like his game. And then there’s Blake Griffin. I’m sorry, but I’m not interested in watching my PF get hurt every year because he’s only interested in high-flying. Step back and take a jump shot every once in a while. Or maybe try working on your free throws.

The point is, I don’t need the Sacramento Kings and Tyreke Evans’ broken jump shot anymore. I can deal without Demarcus Cousins’ blowing up every week and getting suspended. And I certainly can deal without losing 2 out of every 3 games. I’ve gotten over my 15 year love affair with my childhood team, even though it’s taken me two years to do it. But a terrible front office will do that for ya.

Goodbye Magoofs, and good riddance.

I will miss Slamson though :/

 

Leave a Reply

