Album Review: Future Pluto


I’m bout to cop the Porsche, Tony Montana! Tony Montana! Tony Montana!
You leave me no choice, Tony Montana! Tony Montana! Tony Montana!

Ok, ok, I know I didn’t use the best lines to start out this review but I’m a 49er fan. Can you blame me?

pluto

First off, I’m INCREDIBLY late on listening to this album, and I have to apologize to Future for sleeping so long. This album is solid from front to back and it begins with a surprise appearance from Big Rube of the legendary Dungeon Family. He definitely caught me off guard with the way the album starts. Most rappers from the south like to lead off their album with a banging ass beat, in which they call out all challengers *cough* Lil Wayne*cough* *cough*T.I.*cough*. He continues the calm vibe into the second track with a classic R & B beat and feature from R. Kelly, which was a nice change of pace. He makes sure to let us know what’s good by track 3 (Straight Up). We start to hear that Free Bandz sound we’ve come to know from Future.

One thing that I’ve noticed about Future is he’s a pretty decent lyricist. Unlike other rappers from Atlanta (2 Chainz, Gucci Mane), he actually has something to say and he can say it differently. He can deliver it to us with that codeine flow, or he can spaz out and flow like Busta Rhymes. His lyrical dexterity is something to be messed with. What I really liked about this is how he’ll give us these different flows in the same song, or as he likes to say, “at the same damn time.”

There are a couple of songs that stood out to me, other than the singles that he released. The first one is Homicide feat. Snoop Dogg. First off, the production is crazy. I’ve been riding around banging this song the last week. Another thing that I found interesting was Snoop’s verse. He saw who he was messing with in Future and brought us a different fast flow. I’m used to The Doggfather delivering his rhymes with a smooth pace, as if he’s always high, so that was a nice change of pace. The third thing I noticed, was the hook. It’s so raw, and the way he delivers it over the beat makes the song menacing:

“You say you wanna take a ride? Get in
I grew up on that other side, getting it in
You niggas selling a bunch of pies, snatch a Benz
I heard you say it’s going down, I’m going in
Go tell ’em it’s a homicide (murder)
Go tell ’em it’s a homicide (murder, murder)
Go tell ’em it’s a homicide (murder, murder)
Go tell ’em it’s a homicide, ya ya”

I can’t remember the last time I’ve heard a hook that long, yet so effective. It was one of my favorite parts of the album.

My ABSOLUTE favorite part of the album was the song “Turn On The Lights”. That is the definition of a dirty south banger. The production incorporates the standard 808 bass that we’ve become accustomed to. You know, thumping beats and nasty drops. I really like the Lex Luger-inspired sounds that everybody is incorporating into their beats. It gives it the added aggression that hi-hats used to do. But the one thing that stands out to me is the use of synthesizers. It gives the song and his music in general a futuristic sound, which coincides with his stage name. Props for being creative.

Overall, I’m satisfied with the album and I’m glad I took the time to listen to it. I can definitely say Future just gained another fan.

Notable tracks: “Tony Montana”, “Turn On The Lights”, “Homicide”, “Magic”, “I’m Trippin”, “Straight Up”.

FREE BANDZZZZZZ

Leave a Reply

