Album Review – Capital Cities’ “In A Tidal Wave Of Mystery”


Album Review – Capital Cities’ “In A Tidal Wave of Mystery”
By: Josue “Josh” Alvarez Mapp (a.k.a. DJ Mappquest)

In February of 2013, I had no idea who or what Capital Cities was. I’m sure I saw their self-titled EP sitting on the hot shelf of KSSU. But I glazed over it on to other things. In late March, however, I would, coincidentally, see Capital Cities perform live at SXSW. Now don’t get it twisted, I did not go to Empire Automotive to see Capital Cities, nor did I go for Dead Sara who followed Capital Cities, but I went early since I couldn’t get in to a few other venues before I ended up seeing Wallpaper. close the lineup at Empire Automotive. Their performance at SXSW got me hooked. I would later play quite a few tracks off their Capital Cities EP during March and April. My issue was, five songs wasn’t enough.

On June 4th, 2013, Capital Cities will release “In A Tidal Wave Of Mystery” – their debut album. “In A Tidal Wave Of Mystery” features their five tracks from the Capital Cities EP plus seven fresh tracks for you to enjoy.

Capital Cities summons in their album, and live, a great deal of energy. Their lyrics are catchy, and their songs captures a disco-reinvented sound that is amazing. I’ve had a great appreciation for artists in today’s day and age that blends raw, beautiful instruments with their tracks. Capital Cities features great trumpet play through most, if not all, of their songs. It is simply amazing and wonderful while still capturing an air of pop and a pinch of electronic beats, hopefully captured by a keyboard from the 80’s, in the background. Essentially, it recaptures “Saturday Night Fever.” “Safe and Sound” fully demonstrates what I am trying to explain. One of the most unique tracks on the album is “Farrah Fawcett Hair” which features Andre 3000, with narration from Frank Tavares from National Public Radio (NPR). As stated in the song, “it’s good s#!*”. If you still need to hear more, Capital Cities posted a sampler for your audio pleasures – check it out.

“In A Tidal Wave of Mystery” has this great vibe from start to finish that might make it just become your album for summer. So go forth my fellow humans, and purchase the album on June 4th. If you still rock a CD player in your car, get the CD. If you have upgraded to other means, get it digital. Push play and enjoy your summer with your friends.

Check out more from Capital Cities:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/capitalcities
Twitter: http://twitter.com/capitalcities
Website: http://capitalcitiesmusic.com

Check out DJ Mappquest on Facebook, Twitter, and on KSSU.com – Tuesdays 6-7 PM for sports talk and Fridays 6-8 PM for music!

Leave a Reply

