The Comfortably Numb Hour


comfortably numb 

College radio is a symbol for subculture, underground music, and ideas outside the mainstream.  Without creative thinkers who have a place to express themselves, life would be boring and tedious.  When I stopped by the KSSU table at orientation last summer, I was surprised to see we had a student run radio station, and that it was free form – which means the DJ’s can create their shows any way they want, as long as basic rules and regulations are followed.  I have fancied myself as someone who embraces most forms of creative expression, so I jotted my contact info down and hoped I would be given the opportunity to at least speak with the director and maybe even – gasp – get my own show.

The interview was a bit nerve wracking because Josue and Sue gave nothing away.  They asked their questions, I answered, and then I was told I would be getting one of two emails in the coming weeks:  either, sorry we only had so many spots or congratulations you are a new DJ.  I was so ecstatic when I received the congrats email, my dog Beauty got excited as well – and it takes a lot to get her excited.

beauty right side up

So let me just say that I am thrilled to be sharing music with you that has meant a lot to me.  I will also be interviewing awesome people doing amazing things.  My show is called:  The Comfortably Numb Hour, and I am DJ Mercy.  Here is my commercial:

Take some time off on your busy Mondays to enjoy the Comfortably Numb Hour with DJ Mercy from 11 to noon on kssu.com.  Let music take you to a happier place and start your week with a smile.  NIN, The Cure, Depeche Mode, Marilyn Manson and Garbage are a few of the artists that will brighten up your day.  Did you know it has been scientifically proven that music helps the brain to focus?  So eat your vegetables and listen to DJ Mercy and you will be on your way to great success.

Leave a Reply

