Your New Punk Rock DJ Is Here – DJ Mass Nerder


The_Day_My_Kid_Went_Punk_Jay_Underwood

Hey, people!

My name is Gianna, but you can call me DJ Mass Nerder.

I play punk.

When people ask me what I play on my show, and I usually just try to say “I play punk,” they usually ask “What KIND of punk?” To this I respond, “I tend to lean toward 80’s hardcore punk. Have you ever heard of Black Flag or Minor Threat?”

I guess to further explain what it is that I play, I’ll refer to my CD collection.

I really try to support artists that I like. I go to shows, I am (almost) always wearing a band shirt, and (most importantly) I buy their Cd’s. The CD’s that I own and like the most reside permanently in my car. There are two reasons for this: it’s easier to stick in a CD instead of fumbling through my phone while I drive (and probably less illegal) and it gives people a pretty good idea of what I like. When I give people rides, I have this kind of mini-initiation where I ask them to pick out a CD in my car that looks interesting to them and tell them to play it.

Here’s what’s in my car (in no particular order):

  • “Damaged” by Black Flag
  • “(MIA) The Complete Anthology” by the Germs
  • “Adolescents” by the Adolescents
  • “…And Out Come The Wolves” by Rancid
  • “Operation Ivy” by Operation Ivy (the 2007 reissue of “Energy” from Hellcat Records)
  • “The Restoration Of Chaos and Order” by Against All Authority
  • “Cool To Be You” by the Descendents (I got my DJ name from their song “Mass Nerder” and yes, that is the correct spelling of their band name.)
  • “Punk’s Not Dead” by the Exploited
  • “Violent Femmes” by the Violent Femmes (They’re not exactly considered punk, but I like the crude vocals and bold lyrics.)
  • “The Best Of Sublime” by Sublime (Dude, how can one hate on Sublime? The answer is that you can’t.)
  • “Complete Discography” by Minor Threat

Feel free to look any of those up, but those are just the favorites of the CD’s I OWN. Some CD’s are hard to find or are always sold out in record stores; I am still in a (seemingly endless) search for “Love Songs For The Apocalypse” by Johnny Hobo and the Freight Trains and “Milo Goes to College” by the Descendents.

Every week on my show, I play at least one song by a local band and one by a female-fronted punk band because I believe that both don’t get as much recognition as they deserve.

My favorite local bands are the Secretions, the Carbonites, the Aberzombies, Flip The Switch, and the Barfly Effect. There are so many amazing local bands and I discover more every time I go to a local Sacramento punk show. The punk scene here is awesome, so are the people, and I don’t think I’ve ever been to a “bad” show. the secretions

Coming from a short-lived small-time high school punk band, I not only have a lot of respect for local acts, but female-fronted ones as well. I played bass and sung (I considered myself a bassist first, then a singer). I like the Bikini Kill, the Runaways, and the Distillers. If you were wondering, the song I played last week for this category was “Jackie Chan” by the Dollyrots.

One last thing, I am a nerd. I can admit it and that’s why my DJ name fits really well. I am really into computers, like REALLY into computers. I can talk forever about operating systems and programming languages. I am a web developer and hand code all of my HTML, CSS, Javascript (sometimes with JQuery), and PHP. I write out every word when I send my text messages (and use correct punctuation). I also find it attractive when a guy can use a semicolon correctly (and that is only kind of a joke).

See you at 10pm on Thursdays on kssu.com!

-DJ Mass Nerder

Leave a Reply

