Drake: Nothing Was The Same Album Review


drake album cover

If you were looking for Drake to get back to his rapping roots on his latest effort, you’re going to have a bad time.

It seems he’s purposely moved in the R&B direction on his new album Nothing Was the Same. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing; it’s just disappointing. The beginning of the album is a little confusing after you listen to the entire album. The intro is 6:04 of rapping, yet the entire album doesn’t take on that type of vibe. I will admit, “Tuscan Leather” is one of the highlights of the album. It wasn’t a typical intro, with 808s that rattle the trunk. Drake isn’t known for that (See “Fireworks & Over My Dead Body”). But it is oozing with a calm, confident bravado; something only he and Jay-Z have seemed to master:

“I piece letters together and get to talkin’ reckless
Owl chains like credentials, you know you see the necklace
My life’s a completed checklist
I’m tired of hearin’ ’bout who you checkin’ for now
Just give it time, we’ll see who’s still around a decade from now
That’s real”

Drake is pretty much proclaiming after three albums that he’s going to be the biggest rapper of his time. Not many rappers survive ten years in the industry at a high level; the list is very short. (Jay-Z, Lil Wayne, Eminem, Kanye West) With the current formula for success, he’ll be sure to add himself to this list in about seven years.

Drake-Hive-Furthest-ThingOn the next track, “Furthest Thing”, you see the creative formula Drake has created go to work. This song has the most catchy hook of the album, even more so than “Stared From The Bottom”, and might be one of the most catchy hooks this year:

“I still been drinkin’ on the low
Mobbin’ on the low
F*****n’ on the low
Smokin’ on the low
I still been plottin’ on the low
Schemin’ on the low
The furthest thing from perfect
Like everyone I know”

I swear, that hook was in my head for about two weeks after I first listened to it. But the best part of the song is the second part. The beat transitions into a soulful loop in which he again incorporates some of his old Comeback Season bars with his new mainstream style. I absolutely loved how he screwed the chorus from the first part of the song and made a new chorus for the second part. This is the best song on the album to me. Hands down.

I’m not going to get into “Started From The Bottom”. Every person on the face of the earth has heard that song by this point.drake-to-release-new-single-started-from-the-bottom-on-grammy-night-1

The CD kind of hits a low point for me in the next three songs, and I often find myself skipping it. Another disappointing aspect to the album. It’s possibly because I don’t like all that singing on a HIP HOP ALBUM. Just saying…

Drake hits another high point with “From Time”. The beat is soft and fits the mood during the chorus, then it hits you hard with the 808s periodically. It’s a perfect blend of Hip Hop and R&B production. It’s hard enough to catch your attention, yet it’s smooth enough not to take your attention away from the lyrics; which are classically introspective. It seems that Drake has at least one or two songs per album where he reflects over his experiences:

“Thinkin’ ’bout Texas, back when Porscha used to work at Treasures
Or further back than that, before I had the Houston leverage
When I got Summer a Michael Kors with my momma’s debit
A weak attempt at flexin’, I’ll never forget it
Cause that night I played her three songs
Then we got to talkin’ ’bout something we disagreed on
Then she start tellin’ me how I’ll never be as big as Trey Songz
Boy was she wrong, that was just negative energy for me to feed off”

After “From Time”, the album alternates with hits and misses. “Hold On, We’re Going Home” is unbearable. I can never understand how Drake includes these tracks where he does nothing but sing, on a HIP HOP ALBUM. I throw this in the category with “Find Your Love”.

“The Language” is a pretty catchy song. I like how he uses the same flow from the song “Versace”. I felt that one guest verse wasn’t enough of this flow and I thought it was a great way to capitalize on the popularity of the song on his album.

drake and jay z“Pound Cake/Paris Morton Music 2” is extremely disappointing. Not in the sense of it being a bad song. It was amazing. I’m just disappointed that Drake let Jay-Z destroy him on his own album. You know, the premier, and most anticipated Hip-Hop album of the year (yes even over Magna Carta Holy Grail). Drake may be the future of the genre, but Jay-Z let him know he’s not ready to give up his throne just yet.

“Cake, cake-cake, cake-cake, cake
500 million, I got a pound cake
Niggas is fronting, that’s upside-down cake
Get ’em a red nose, they clown cakes
They shoulda never let you ’round cake
Look at my neck, I got a carrot cake
Now here’s the icing on the cake
Cake, cake-cake, cake-cake, uhh”

The amount of metaphors and double entendres Jigga uses with just one word is AMAZING. There’s no way Drake ever had a chance going toe to toe with Jay-Z. Just think about it for a second. “Look at my neck, I got a carrot cake”. He’s boasting about the amount of karats in his chain. Mind Blown.

Overall, it was a solid effort from Drizzy Drake. I don’t like all the singing and whining, but once I get past that, it’s a decent album. I wouldn’t put it in my classics category, but I wouldn’t put it in the trash bin either.

Tune in to kssu.com to hear a variety of brand new music!

Comments

  1. If you like Drake, then you may like new Epic artist KES. http://www.thefader.com/2013/12/05/stream-kes-audio-justice-ep/

Leave a Reply

