Valentine’s Day


meh vday

“I don’t understand why Cupid was chosen to represent Valentine’s Day. When I think about romance, the last thing on my mind is a short, chubby toddler coming at me with a weapon”- Unknown Author.

When one thinks about Valentine’s Day, they think of things such as love, chocolate, roses, cheesy cards, little stuff animals, happiness, and sold out restaurant reservations. But for others, Valentine’s Day is the one-day out of the year where they absolutely dread. Valentine’s Day is the one day where society dedicates 24 hours on solely people who are in relationships. For me, I see Valentine’s Day, as any other day, as well as a commercial holiday. Valentine’s Day is the one “holiday” where retailers want us to buy our significant others, flowers, candy, and diamond jewelry.  It is also the one day that I have to deal with my social media pages blowing up with my peers sharing how much they love their significant other.

This year, since I am single for Valentine’s Day, I plan on spending a low-key night around my dorm room. I’ll probably catch up on some of the vday ecardtelevision shows that I have missed throughout the week, such as The Blacklist, while eating Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream. Other than that, I might hang out with two of my roommates, since they too are single.

For those who are like me and have no plans, here are some ideas for how you can spend on your Friday:

  • Spend time with your single friends-whether it be indoors or outdoors
  • Have a dinner party at your place
  • Have an anti-Valentines Day party
  • Have a movie marathon
  • Take a road trip for the weekend
  • Have a lazy day while listening to KSSU.com
  • Celebrate the fact that you are single and don’t have to buy anyone gifts

Regardless whether you are in a relationship or not, I hope y’all have a tolerable, good Valentine’s Day.

Trackbacks

  1. […] is a new DJ at KSSU. If you enjoyed this post, leave a comment down below. To check out some other blog posts I’ve posted, or the fellow KSSU DJs, visit kssunews.wordpress.com. And be sure to listen to […]

  2. […] a new DJ at KSSU. If you enjoyed this post, leave a comment down below. To check out some other blog posts I’ve posted, or the fellow KSSU DJs, visit kssunews.wordpress.com. And be sure to listen to […]

Leave a Reply

