The dawn of new post-fight bonus for the UFC


Knockout of the Night and Submission of the Night will be no more. UFC announced that it will be replacing the long standing performance awards with two Performance of the Nights awards. UFC’s Dana White tweeted earlier today which will be awarded to fighters who display “the two best individual performances on the card.”

I don’t agree with the decision about removing the two awards. In my opinion I would have added the Performance of the Night to the already existing awards. I hope that the new incentive will motivate fighters to finish fights. The new bonus will start at the UFC Fight Night 36 fight card in Brazil.

The bonus will remain the same at $50,000 if the fighter is chosen for Performance of the Night. Let’s go over the list of fighters who will forever have the record of now retired post fight bonuses.

Top KOTN winners in UFC history

1. Anderson Silva: 7

2. Vitor Belfort: 5

3t. Chris Leben: 4

3t. Roy Nelson: 4

3t. Lyoto Machida: 4

3t. Travis Browne: 4

Top SOTN winners in UFC history

1. Joe Lauzon: 6

2. Nate Diaz: 5

3t. Cole Miller: 4

3t: Terry Etim: 4

5t. Chris Lytle: 3

5t. Stefan Struve: 3

5t. Clay Guida: 3

5t. Jim Miller: 3



  1. Interesting stats thanks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: