Oh Sochi…


loveolympics_1056922__olympics_

Oh Sochi, how I love and hate you.  You’re filled with the glory of victory and the bitterness of defeat.  Though, now that I really think about it, I really just pretty much hate you.  Why?  You remind me of past relationships and the lessons I’ve learned from them.  Let’s ignore the fact that you last for only 16 days (already, that’s almost equivalent to half of my relationships growing up).  But, let’s just break it down.

First, some relationships just aren’t meant to even start, no matter how long you’ve prepared or how much money you spent.  The entire cost of the olympic ring failSochi Olympics (including the infamous Opening Ceremony) cost approximately $51 million.  Now, I haven’t had a boyfriend invest that much in me, but I have had one spend thousands of dollars on an engagement ring (or at least, that’s what he said).  But, I, like the fifth Olympic snowflake/ring, was unable to open and begin a whole new chapter of my life.  Some speculate that the ring’s failure to open was symbolic for the potential failure of the Sochi Olympics.  If truth be told, if I had married that man, I’d be nowhere near where I’d be today and would honestly probably feel like a failure (sorry ex, but congrats on your marriage now!).

olympic relationshipsIt’s not all bad though, sometimes you manage to land that cute, nerdy boyfriend who tries so hard to be cool (kind of like Leonard Hofstadter in the Big Bang Theory).  Yes, it’s kind of annoying, but at the same time it’s also so adorable.  It’s almost like when the Russian Police Choir broke out Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky” at the Opening Ceremony.  Sure, you probably won’t remember your ex/this performance a few years later, but when you hear either of them, I can guarantee you’ll probably have some flashbacks where you think, “aw s/he was adorably awkward.”

Other times, that boyfriend or girlfriend can make you feel trapped and suffocated, like you’re in a room that you Johnny+Quinn+Doorcan’t escape.  I may have been 18 at the time, but I definitely did not need a boyfriend telling me what time to go to bed every night.  I also didn’t need him telling me to check in or hover over me every five seconds.  So, when you reach a point in a relationship when you feel trapped and don’t think there’s a solution, do what U.S. Olympic Bobsledder Johnny Quinn did and break that door down to get out of there.  However, please note that you probably shouldn’t break down your ex’s door unless you can afford to replace it.

There’s also times when you realize just how potentially dangerous a future relationship can be.  I’m not referring to Taylor Swift’s knowing he’s danger when he walked in where he might make you sad.  I’m referring to Sochi-slopestyle-course-dangerous.  I’m talking so dangerous it’s better to just skip going in altogether.  Olympic superstar Shaun White decided to forgo to inaugural slopestyle event because “the potential risk of injury is a bit too much for [him] to gamble [his] other Olympic goals on.”  Now obviously you and I aren’t Olympians.  But, we do have our own “Olympic goals,” whether it’s graduating college, finding that dream career, or maybe writing your own music.  Sometimes it’s better to avoid that relationship until you might be able to achieve that goal.  For me, I realized my goal of finishing college with a bachelor’s degree would not have been possible with a past boyfriend, so I did as White did, and pulled out before I couldn’t achieve my Olympic goal.

These are just a few of the ways that the Sochi Olympics reminded me of my past relationships.  It’s not all bad, and I’m sure as the Olympics continue until Sunday, February 23rd, there will probably be more comparisons.   Hopefully, they’ll be more positive comparisons.

DJ Paradox enjoys long walks on the beach and will always ship Dramione and Shenny.  She hopes you’ll tune in to watch and support your country in the 2014 Sochi Winter Olympics.  She also hopes you enjoyed this blog and takes the time out to compliment somebody and make their day better.  A smile goes a long way in the world.  You can tune in to her show Paradigm Shift every Monday from 4-5pm at KSSU.com

Leave a Reply

