DJ Mappquest’s SXSW Playlist


sxsw-2014-logo_600x300March 11th through March 15, 2014 was the annual gathering of creative minds and hipsters alike – the music portion of SXSW.  Unfortunately, I won’t have time for a few days to give my full write up on everything I experienced or heard, but for the moment, enjoy the playlist of my week.  A few songs are from artists that were nowhere near SXSW, but most are from artists I saw this week.

My traditional flying song is always “Leaving on a Jet Plane.”  This time around I picked the Armageddon movie version.  When I landed on Tuesday afternoon, I spent the afternoon getting settled down.  So when I was ready, it was party time.  My party song that came to mind was the unappreciated single from The Great Gatsby movie.  And lastly, I finish with my traditional song when traveling back to my almost always sunny state of California – the iconic West coast rapper and one of his most, and hip hop/rap’s most iconic song, “Going Back to Cali” by Notorious B.I.G.

All the other songs are artists I heard or saw during the week.  Hope you look them up, give them a listen, and possibly become a fan.  Stay tuned to the blog for further postings on my slice of the SXSW experience.

“Leaving on a Jet Plane” Chantal Kreviazuk
“A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got)” Fergie ft. Q-Tip and Goonrock
“Bumpy Road” Destruction Unit
“Wakin On a Pretty Day” Kurt Vile
“Revolution” Saidah Baba Talibah
“Horses Fell” The Darcy’s
“Bread & Cheese” A Tribe Called Red ft. Black Bear
“G.T.F.D.” Styles&Complete
“Let Her Go (Caked Up Remix)” Passenger
“All Black Everything” Crizzly
“Once Again” Ookay
“Hoping” Juliette Ashby
“Adeline” Hey Monea!
“Bussitup” Dirt Monkey
“Insane” Vaski
“All Day I Dream” Fei Fei
“Prosti-Tot” Reid Speed & Mike Balance
“Stand Up” Ludacris
“Going Back to Cali” Notorious B.I.G.

Leave a Reply

