Die Antwoord


die antwoordDie Antwoord (Afrikaans: “The Answer”) are a South African hip hop trio consisting of Ninja (Watkin Tudor Jones), Yolandi, and their music producer DJ Hi-Tek. Their music producer seems to be played by various people throughout their music video’s. They released $O$ in 2009, and in 2011 they formed their own record label Zef Recordz. Zef being described by Yolandi as, “It’s associated with people who soup their cars up and rock gold and s***. Zef is, you’re poor but you’re fancy. You’re poor but you’re sexy, you’ve got style.” In 2012 they released their second album Ten$Ion.

zefBoth Watkins and Yolandi went through a lot of trial and error before ending up with their current image. After fronting MaxNormal.tv (named after a Judge Dredd character), and The Constructus Corporation, they finally found their calling with Die Antwoord. Watkins described the experience to the Rolling Stone as, “Everything I did before Die Antwoord was me experimenting, messing around and trying to find Die Antwoord… Everything before it was disposable. It was all throwaway.”

Now I don’t actually listen to a lot of hip hop, but every once in awhile I come across a group that I thoroughly enjoy. Die Antwoord is one of them, who have a sound that I would have to say can be almost hypnotic. Their music videos tend to go for more of a shock value in obtaining viewers, which seems to have worked for them as their Music Video I FINK U FREEKY(NSFW) is sitting at more then 45 million views. It was the shock value that turned me off to their music at first, but before I realized it the song had worked it’s way into my mind and stayed there all day.  It was around my third time watching the music video that day that I realized there was no hope for me; I was hooked on this band out of South Africa, Die Antwoord.

I blog about other stuff too:

Movie Reviews: The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Knights of Badassdom,

Show Reviews: Sleepy Hollow, From Dusk Till Dawn, Archer

Games: Flappy Bird

Bands: Acacia Strain

Food: Pescatarian.

The Earth: Earth Day at Sac State

Computer Stuff: Version Control,

I’m a DJ playing music every Friday at 1pm on my radio show Zombie Patrol, an eclectic listening experience on kssu.com UTC -8 (don’t worry there aren’t any Zombies, I hope).

Comments

  1. Johne600 says:

    Thanksamundo for the post.Really thank you! Awesome. bgdaafekegga

Trackbacks

  1. […] Bands: Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord […]

  2. […] Bands: Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord […]

  3. […] Bands: Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord […]

  4. […] Bands: Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord […]

  5. […] Bands: Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord […]

  6. […] Bands: Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord […]

  7. […] Bands: Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord […]

  8. […] Bands: Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord […]

  9. […] Acacia Strain, Die Antwoord, Tchaikovsky’s 1812 […]

Leave a Reply

