Power Shot with DJ Bluebomber


sparku

Hello people of the internet!

My name is Zach Kaminski, but, if you listen to KSSU on Tuesdays at 7-8 PM then you probably know me as DJ Bluebomber. If you don’t listen to my show then I’m here to convince you to do so. My salesman skills are not up to snuff but I’d like to share with you a little bit about me and my show.

mic and headphonesFor all intents and purposes my show, Power Shot, is a music radio show. However, there are sometimes topics of discussion such as movies, video games, and tech news. All of these things, especially music, are what my life are centered around and what gets me out of bed… after 12 PM.

If the first thought that popped into your head was “what music do you like, Zach?” and not why I’m so lazy then that is a question I can answer. Most of the music I play is alt/indie but occasionally I will mix in some metal and electronica music. In terms of specific genres, I play lo-fi (Ty Segall, Wavves, Cloud Nothings), Garage Punk (The Orwells, Japandroids, Protomartyr), Flower Punk (The Black Lips, The Fresh & Onlys, The Black Angels), Indie Rock (The Shins, Broken Bells, Two Door Cinema Club), and many other genres of that type. In terms of metal I usually listen to progressive metal; bands like Scale the Summit or The Ocean. In general, though, I just play whatever I think sounds good but tend to gravitate towards these genres in particular.

Probably the best perk about working at a radio station is all the different kinds of music that you get exposed to. I would not have heard of, or soundboardlistened to, half the bands I do now if it wasn’t for my time spent at KSSU. Getting that experience has been my favorite part of KSSU and college as a collective. I also love all the different people I meet because of my expanding tastes in music. Music is one of the best ways to connect with people even if you know nothing about the music they listen to. At that point it becomes a moment of enlightenment. But I digress, because there is more to Power Shot than just music. There are also awkward rants about movies and video games. But if you thought it would just be me saying what new releases are happening then you are in for a surprise. Both movies and video games are a passion of mine, so I like to stay on top of what is happening in the releases and what is happening in these industries as a whole.

If any of what I mentioned tickles your fancy then I’d encourage you to tune into my show at 7-8 PM on Tuesday nights on kssu.com. It makes me feel good to get listeners, and it helps KSSU stay afloat.

 

Leave a Reply

