True Love Kills The Fairy Tale: The Casket Girls New Album Review


casket girls

One of the best things about being a DJ at KSSU is all the free music we have access to as DJ’s, and by free I mean we can listen to it as many times as we want as long as we don’t burn it to any CD’s and pass it around to all of our friends (disclaimer, haha). For all of you that are not aware of the KSSU studio, the top shelf of each genre of music is “hot music”. Hot music is music that is usually new and the record labels pass it around to stations to see how it does and get some kind of feedback on the album. The “hot music” at KSSU happens to be one of my favorite features of the station. I am a music junkie and having access to new music available for me to sample and play on my shows as many weeks as I desire is my personal idea of heaven (if there were any kind of heaven).

casket girls picsOn occasion I browse over the hot music and throw something into my computer that I think I may like, and attempt to listen to the whole CD. If you are anything like me, in order to appreciate the entirety of an album, you’ve got to play the album more than once. It is hard to appreciate each one of the instruments, the vocals and the lyrics the first go-around. But I have found that on a few occasions I have put a CD into my laptop and have fallen madly in love, appreciating each track on the CD equally or more than the previous track.

So as I popped True Love Kills the Fairy Tale by The Casket Girls (released in February) into my laptop to sample, I was hoping for that “madly in love” feeling, but only expecting to like a few tracks. Oh my gosh. Once again I was wrong. I happen to be super picky when it comes to female vocalists. I don’t know what it is about the sound of their voice but it usually just doesn’t do anything for me, unless the artist is exceptionally talented, which is obviously the case in this instance. Every bit of the vocals throughout the album are pretty haunting, but in the most beautiful way. The instrumentals are incredible! The drums beat slow enough to give it that chill vibe, but are fast enough to keep me interested. The guitar is super synthy, but it makes each song that much better. To be completely honest I am a very literal person and am going to have to do more research pertaining to the lyrics. While I enjoy them and appreciate their depth, I don’t really understand what she is talking about most of the time. In my personal opinion, lyrics with depth are preferred to “slap that booty” or whatever else mainstream is talking about nowadays. 

As usual with most bands, after giving them a try I usually do some research on them to find out when the soonest is that I will be able to see them live, where they started,casket girls playing live and how long they have been around. Sadly, they just finished a tour a month and a half or so ago. I am going to have to wait until next year and hope they come to this area again! They are from Savannah, Georgia and consist of Ryan Graveface (Graveface Records, Dreamend, Black Moth Super Rainbow) and sisters Phaedra and Elsa Greene.

I also found this really amazing story about the album that I found incredibly interesting made by one of the band members, Ryan Graveface: “I dropped off a shit ton of songs to the girls to work on one night. I went back to check on their progress, because they weren’t answering their phones. I don’t know if they dropped acid or what, but I walked in and Elsa was sobbing and reciting poetry while Phaedra was just staring straight ahead writing it all down, like catatonic. The next day they dropped off a CD and said, ‘We don’t even know what’s on this. You can throw it in the garbage if you want.’ I sat down and listened all the way through and cried. I was like, ‘Holy shit! They actually wrote a record like that!’ I booked studio time and had them re-record every note just as it was on the demo. They really didn’t remember any of it. Had to learn the songs as if someone else had written them entirely. Very bizarre.”

If you haven’t had a chance to check this band out, DO IT!! The whole album is really great and I will definitely be playing this on repeat enough to drive my friends and family crazy. Their album is available on iTunes, Soundcloud, Spotify, and pretty much any platform you use to listen to music.

Tune into my show Rack City with DJ RACKSPACE on Friday nights from 9 pm to 10 pm on  www.kssu.com, Sacramento State’s student run radio!!

 

Leave a Reply

