New DJ: JoanBon


KSSU

Hi, beautiful people!

I’m DJ JoanBon and I am a new DJ at KSSU student run radio. My show is called Joansin’ and you can listen to it Tuesdays at 2PM.  If you’re “joansin” for some great music and bit of talk, you should definitely tune in.  My DJ name is my real name, Joan, and the french word “bon”, which means good.  So, basically my name means Joan the Good and that works because it will be a good show. I will be playing music spanning the genres of alt/indie, electronica, and hip hop and it will mostly be fairly recent tunes.  I am also going to be talking a bit about anything that’s on my mind that week.  Some of my interests besides music are fashion, food & cooking, video games, comic books, movies & television, and even some celebrity gossip. It should be a fun and diverse show, so definitely give it a listen.

A little bit about me:

I am a Communication Studies major and I transferred this semester from Foothill College in Los Altos Hills.  I am originally from Reno, Nevada.  Right out of high school I attended the University of Nevada and was planning on becoming a nurse. After doing some nurse shadowing I realized at the tender age of eighteen I had chosen the wrong field of study for myself.  I tried some other majors such as history, education, accounting, early childhood development, and even went to Culinary School for a time at Truckee Meadows Community College. After realizing I didn’t enjoy the work of a chef as much as I thought I would I left that too.  After a lot of reflection, I realized I needed to go after my dreams and do what I really had always wanted to do: entertainment.  I want to be on radio or TV or even in movies.  I decided it was best to get a some kind of degree that would apply to that kind of job, and that’s how I decided on Communication Studies. I had realized I needed to get out of Reno since college had just felt like high school all over again.  Same faces, same places.  I needed to get out into the world and away from Reno.

I did some research and discovered Foothill.  I visited it and fell in love with it. I lived in San Jose while I attended Foothill and worked at a Jamba Juice.  Working at that Jamba Juice was one of the best decisions of my life.  I loved it, I met a lot of amazing people and made some friends for life.  I chose to transfer to Sac State because I loved the campus and the people when I came to visit and they have a great Communication Studies program. My brother also lives here, so that was a nice added bonus.  I now work at Epicure Catering here on campus and I am loving it so far.

Now that I’ve told you a little bit about myself, I hope you’ll all tune into my show, Joansin’, every Tuesday at 2PM on kssu. I’m Looking forward to our time together!

