UFC Fight Night 54 Results and Recap

UFC fight night 54

This Saturday UFC 54 was at Scotiabank Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia. The main event fight between Rory Macdonald versus Tarec Saffiedine (Former Strikeforce Welterweight Champion) where fighting in a number one contendership match to fight the winner of Johnny Hendricks Versus Robbie Lawler. Macdonald Dropped Saffiedine with a big left hand and followed with several punches that lead to a TKO win in the 1:28 mark of the third round.

Rory MacDonald and Tarec Saffiedine Highlights:

This is MacDonald’s 3rd victory in a row, last lost came at the hands of current title contender Robbie Lawler. Lawler is current setup to fight in a rematch fight with current Champion Johnny Hendricks on December 6th 2014.  Macdonald Said” I want the next Title shot, I want the winner of the next fight.” Macdonald now holds a professional record of 18-2. While Saffiedine falls to 15-4 in his professional career.

Co-Main Event Fight between Rafael Assunaco versus Bryan Caraway.

Bantamweight Contender Rafael Assunaco Dominated the bout with is quickness and better striking. Winning by Unanimous decision 30-27 in the score cards. Assunaco is the last person to defeat current Champion TJ Dillashaw. With this win Assunaco was next in line to get a crack the title.

Assunaco said “I was impressed with Dominick’s Cruz’s performance at UFC 178 and was impressed by his dominating Performance” He wasn’t upset that Cruz will leap frog him in line to get a title fight. The Brazilian in third place for the UFC’s longest current winning streak 7, only behind Jon “Bones” Jones (Light Heavyweight Champion) with 11 and Middleweight Champion Chris Weidman with 8.


UFC Fight Night 54 results below.

Main card
Rory MacDonald def. Tarec Saffiedine via third-round TKO (1:28)
Raphael Assunaco def. Bryan Caraway vía unanimous decisión (30-27 x3)
Chad Laprise def. Yosdenis Cedeno via unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Elias Theodorou def. Bruno Santos via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Nordine Taleb def. Li Jingliang via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)
Mitch Gagnon def. Roman Salazar via submission (rear-naked choke) (R1, 2:06)

Daron Cruickshank def. Anthony Njokuani via unanimous decision (30-27 X3).
Olivier Aubin-Mercier def. Jake Lindsey via submission (triangle) (R3, 3:22)
Paul Felder def Jason Saggo via split decision (29-28 28-29 29-28).
Chris Kelades def. Patrick Holohan via unanimous decision (29-28 X3).
Albert Tumenov def. Matt Dwyer via TKO (head kicks) at 1:03 of round one.
Pedro Munhoz def. Jerrod Sanders via submission (guillotine choke) (R1, 0:39)


The Hive operates a radio show on KSSU, Sacramento State’s only student run radio station.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: