Happy Boo Day


Halloween

Now that we are halfway thru October, I must say that I looking forward to Halloween. Growing up, Halloween was one my favorite days in the fall, purely because I had a reason to get creative and dress up. But now that I am in college, I enjoy more of the lounging around the house with my friends and watching scary movies, while eating candy. I also enjoy going to corn mazes with my friends and decorating pumpkins.

The one thing that hasn’t changed in the last 22 years about Halloween is that I dislike going thru Haunted Houses. I dislike Haunted Houses because I am one of those people who likes to know what is going around in my surroundings. I am also jumpy to the point where if my roommate knocks on my door while it’s open; I’ll jump and scream.

I remember in 5th grade when I went to a haunted house in my neighborhood with my brother and dad. By the time we got out of the haunted house my dad’s shirt was wrinkled just from me gripping on to it. That night, I had to sleep with the bathroom light on because I believed that the clowns and other Halloween creatures would come out of the bathroom toilet, sink, and shower and make its way to my room and scare me. I am pretty sure that I got up multiple times during the night to see if everything was okay.

AlejandroGhost

Even though I dislike Haunted Houses, I do love watching Halloween movies. I am the only one in my family who believes in ghosts and the afterlife, therefore I get super involved in the horror films. The only downside of watching horror films is that I feel like the plot-line of the movie will play out in my own life. My whole thing is, I know that some of these stories have occurred to people decades ago, but my mind keeps telling me that the plot is going to somehow play out in my own life, giving me much anxiety. Because of this, I tend to lean on the Halloween movies that are fictional. Some of my favorite Halloween movies that are both fictional and non-fiction are The Addams Family Values, The Nightmare Before Christmas, The Rocky Horror Picture Show, The Conjuring, the Blair Witch Project, and the Exorcist.

To all those people who plan on going out on Halloween, I wish you a fun,safe night. My advice to you is to not do anything stupid, which leads me to a post I found on Tumblr a few weeks ago.
“Hey kids, as we approach Halloween I just wanted you guys to be careful and say DON’T SCREW WITH SPIRITS. Don’t mess with Ouija Boards, don’t talk to no dead people, don’t screw with demons, don’t summon, don’t go around in abandoned buildings. If you are considering a thing, just think, “would a white person in a horror movie do this thing?” If the answer is yes, then don’t do the thing”(Touch the Sky).

Ashlee is a DJ with KSSU Go listen to her show.

