Halloween: the Joan Way!


Halloween

For me, Halloween is a chance to dress up in fun costumes and pretend to be different people/things.  It’s a holiday to party and stuff yourself with candy and watch horror movies.  I was trying to decide if Halloween, Christmas, or Thanksgiving was my favorite holiday.  I decided I love and need them all.  Christmas and Thanksgiving are usually holidays reserved for your family.  I  know not everyone likes or even loves their family, but I do and I enjoy getting to see them.  Thanksgiving is nice because it’s just consuming copious amounts of food and beverage and hanging out with your family. There’s no expectations to buy presents, unlike Christmas.  Christmas can come with a lot of anxiety for some, but only if you let it.  Christmas for me is a joyous time, and I love giving and getting gifts.  Each holiday brings something different to the table and I wouldn’t want to give any of them up.  Halloween is the holiday to hang out with your friends, whether you decide to go to a party or just stay home and watch “The Walking Dead” on Netflix and gorge on candy.

Growing up we always carved a pumpkin.  We wouldn’t carve it until the 30th or the 31st, though, because my dad said it would rot.  My mom would make her Halloween Chili and cornbread for dinner.  I did the usual trick-or-treating with my siblings and cousin.  We would come home afterward, change into our pajamas and dump our pillowcases out and start trading.  I always tried to collect as many of the Twix and Reeses as I could. Afterwards we would all cuddle up in blankets in front of the television and watch “The Lady in White”.  When we decided we were too old for trick-or-treating, my dad would buy us a bunch of the “good” candy, and buy the “yuck” candy for us to hand out to the trick-or-treaters.  Good candy is Reeses, Twix, 100 Grand, Nutrageous, and Butterfinger.  “Yuck” candy is most everything else.  We would eat the Halloween Chili, candy and watch “Lady in White”.

Once I was older Halloween became a time to go to parties and it became okay to dress up again.  My friends and I also made a tradition of going to haunted houses and corn mazes in the weeks leading up to Halloween. My favorite part, however, is definitely the dressing up. I can live without candy now that I’m old, and if I do eat it it’s only a small amount.  I go to parties all the time, so the getting to dress up and seeing everyone else in their costumes is definitely the best part of Halloween now.  This year I have two costumes and two different parties to go to.  Friday I’ll be in San Jose at a friend’s party and I will be Katniss from “The Hunger Games”.  On Saturday I will be at party, here in Sacramento and I’ll be the goddess, Artemis.  The one on Saturday has a theme of Greek, Roman, or Norse gods and goddesses, which is how I came to decide on Artemis.  My Katniss costume was super easy because I already made the bow and arrows for my Artemis costume, so I’m just going to put my hair in a braid and wear pants, boots, and a jacket and voila!, I am Katniss. I’m definitely looking forward to this weekend and seeing my friends, and all their costumes.  Maybe when I’m even older I’ll want to just stay home and have Halloween chili and candy, while watching movies and passing out candy.  For now, however, I like to spend my Halloweens dressing up and partying.

I hope you all have a safe and happy Halloween!

Halloween2

Joanbon is a DJ with Sacramento State’s only student run radio station KSSU

