My Long Journey to the Communications Major


I began my college career like most young people at the tender age of eighteen, fresh and wide-eyed out of high school.  Also, like many my age, I thought I knew everything, including what I wanted to do for the rest of my life.  I thought I’d attend Orvis School of Nursing at the University of Nevada, graduate when I was twenty-two, marry a doctor (or at least a med student) and live happily ever after.  I had a rude awakening when I got to college.  First of all, it was not all that was promised.  I remember being told how much better college was than high school.  This may be true for some, but  It was not for me.  It was like high school all over again except maybe worse.  I was still going to school with the same people I was going to school with since Kindergarten.

All of my classes were just repeats of my high school classes.  These were the  GE classes we are all forced to take before we can get into the actual college-level classes, and start learning things that are new and actually might pertain to our future careers.  Once I was finally able to do some nurse shadowing, I realized I had been wrong and the nursing profession wasn’t for me.  I really wish I had been able to get more experience sooner before I wasted so much time thinking that was going to be my career.

This pattern continued as I tried different majors such as History, English, Education, Accounting, and finally Culinary school.  These are all subjects I love, besides Accounting.  I simply tried Accounting because I knew it would guarantee me a job and money, but it was just too painful for me and not worth any amount of money.  The problem is I didn’t figure out these were all wrong for me until I wasted a lot of time and money on them.

I took a break from school after Culinary school for a while.  I was working full time as a preschool teacher, and knew it’s not what I wanted to do with the rest of my life.  I knew I wanted to go back to school and get my bachelor’s degree. After a year I started looking into schools in California I could go to.  I found Foothill College, and went there for a year before transferring to Sac State. There was no way I was going to school in Nevada with my younger sister’s peers.  After some research, I realized Communication Studies was ideal for me.  There are so many different job opportunities available to me with a COMS degree. If I don’t like my first job with it or just get tired of it, there are a million other things it can apply to.  I’m interested in radio and television at this point, but that could always change.  My Communications degree gives me the flexibility to change my mind and try different careers.  I also found my Communications classes to be more useful than any other college classes I have ever taken besides my Culinary classes.  I like learning things that are actually useful to everyday life, such as cooking.  So many people really don’t know how to communicate effectively and it’s such a vital skill.  I love my major and after much trial and error I know I’ve found where I belong KSSU.
horseman

Listen to JoanBon live on KSSU every day at a particular time, or just listen to the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

