Thanksgiving Extravagance


ThanksGiving

What other day of the year can you eat until you throw up?

None other than Thanksgiving, where we stuff stuffing and good times into our bodies. During Thanksgiving, I usually head up to Chico to my grandparent’s house, or they come down here. Either way, the whole family collects under one household and everybody brings some sort of food or dessert. My mother creates a “Thanksgiving Lasanga”. This Lasagna is like other Lasagnas, except in between each layer of pasta is stuffing, turkey, mashed potatoes, and the sauce is substituted for gravy.

HOO MA GAWSH

It is Heaven in your mouth. Its greatness reaches your taste buds whether it be hot or cold.

After all the typical festivities shenanigans and small talk about who did what where, a brave group of us go out shopping for Black Friday at midnight. Once I went Black Friday shopping and witnessed people fighting over shoes. Shoes! At Wal-mart! They are already cheap!

Last year, I applied for seasonal work at Hot Topic. The Manager was not there the first time I showed up, and was on an “extended lunch break” (smoke break with food) so the assistant manager came to my aid. He said they had a spot to work on Black Friday, so I signed up. I had my employee card, paperwork, and everything. On the day before Thanksgiving, I called to see what time they wanted me to come in and they replied, “sir, we don’t have you scheduled to work here.” Apparently, because the manager did not employ me, my paperwork and card did not matter. After the holidays, I returned to the manager, who promised me a job, only to ignore my calls, texts, e-mails, and visits after an interveiw.

This Thanksgiving, I am heading up to Chico. My grandmother, being a Filipina, is making Lumpia. A relaxing, Lumpia-filled, no work, mini-vacation up to the countryside of Chico is exactly what I want this Thanksgiving.

To hear more about my life’s randomness and shortcomings (with Metal/hardcore/heavyrock music) listen to my show “Shred the Gnar” every Thursday at 9am on http://www.kssu.com.

Until next time, this is DJGingerbeard, heading out.

