Thanksgiving & Black Friday Experience


Black FridayFor the past couple weeks, I have been looking forward to Thanksgiving. Not only do I love the food, but I also love spending time with my family.

Since my parents have been divorced for the past few years, my Thanksgivings have been different from the ones I had growing up. Since my parents divorced, my typical Thanksgiving Day involves me spending a few hours in the morning and afternoon at my Grandma’s house. While there, I catch up with my mom, grandma, aunts, and cousins. I also will help them with any cooking that needs assistance. Once I am done hanging out at my grandma’s place, I go back to my dad’s house, where we enjoy a turkey dinner and a comedy TV show. In the years past, we have watched Modern Family and the Comedy Central Roasts.

Once dinner is done and dishes are cleaned, we head out to do Black Friday Shopping. I must admit, my dad and I dislike Black Friday due to the crowds, and we never buy anything. We just enjoy going out because we like to see how crazy people can be over the deals. For example, last year one of my dad’s co-workers had bought 40 movies at WalMart because they were $2 each.

By the time we are emotional drained from the Black Friday shenanigans, we head home to finish our night with pumpkin pie.

One thing that is going to be different about Thanksgiving is that my brother won’t be home since he’s in the Marines. Thanksgiving is one of his favorite holidays, and last year he wrote a letter home saying that they didn’t serve a great Thanksgiving dinner, but that could be because he was going through boot camp.

Another thing that is going to be different is that my dad and I are going to be having Thanksgiving dinner with my dad’s girlfriends family. I don’t know what to really expect with that, but it will be interesting to see what their traditions are for the Holiday.

For whatever you do on Thanksgiving, I hope you enjoy spending time with your friends and family.

No Name is a DJ at KSSU Monday mornings from 9 am – 10 am.

