Album Review: Haerts


album

From the very first seconds of listening to the first song, “Heart”, on the album Haerts by Haerts I knew I was in for a treat.  One of the very first things it reminded me of was the 80s, which for me, personally, is always a good thing.  I love everything from Pat Benatar to Heart to Blondie.  This album brought up feelings of nostalgia and had similarities to all three of the artists just mentioned. For one thing Nini Fabi has beautiful vocals (and an awesome name) that are on par with the likes of Pat Benatar. After listening through the whole album once, I immediately replayed the whole thing over again.  All the songs flow together nicely and are perfect for a mini dance party in your bedroom or for just listening to as you do some online shopping for Christmas presents.

There are a few songs in particular that stand out to me and that have already been played several times on my iTunes.  The first is the aforementioned “Heart”.  Partly, just because it’s one of the most “80s sounding” songs on there and it was a great introduction to this artist.  I love the drums in the song, “Wings” and was definitely nodding my head along to it.  A third song that I loved is “Call My Name”, which is a slower song that I could totally see playing at one of those cheesy 80s romance movies during the credits.  Hence, the reason I love it so much.  If it reminds me of soundtrack music, it’s gold.

Haerts reminded me of another album that’s not from the 80’s, but definitely reminds me of the 80’s, called Ghostory by School of Seven Bells.  If you have listened to them before and enjoyed Ghostory as much as I do, I would highly recommend Haerts to you as a must listen. If you haven’t heard of either of these bands or artists, but enjoy good indie rock and have nostalgia for the 80s, I recommend you immediately go listen to both.  I promise it will brighten your day!

Joan is a DJ with Sacramento States only student run radio station KSSU

