A Letter of Introduction


Radio

Something about the idea of radio is so exciting. That phenomenon when someone in a room with a microphone addressing a wide audience of diverse people from so many different stages in life. That’s the great thing about mass communications, and that is one of the things that first got me interested in radio to begin with.

Who am I, this random person typing letters on a keyboard in the middle of the night? Well, that is what I am here to tell you about. My name is David, and I am a new DJ here at KSSU. I decided to write this post to not only introduce myself, but also my show, which will be airing on Tuesdays at 3:00 PM.

As for me, I am a pretty simple guy, with way too many interests! I was drawn to KSSU last summer when, after discovering that the station existed, I stopped by and realized that anyone could submit an application. So I did just that, and here I am. I am quite excited for the opportunity to work here at KSSU, not only because of the experience it will provide, but because in my 2 weeks here so far, I have already met some amazing people and gained some valuable experience. I also love music, so that helps

What might you be able to expect from my show? Well, that is the question, isn’t it? My show will, without a doubt, be a reflection of me. That is, a variety of topics and genres of music, as well as being a preverbal melting pot of audio content. I personally enjoy almost every kind of music, so that is what the show will attempt to be at its core. I will warn you, however, that my taste in music often shifts to one genre or another, so the difference may be more noticeable between shows, than between songs.

In addition to some killer music, I will also be talking about topics and stories that I find interesting at the time. These topics will likely be in relation to music, movies and TV, as those are things that I heartily enjoy. In addition to those three “staples” I will attempt to not only broaden your horizons, but mine as well. I plan on doing that by delving into topics that I might not normally take an interest in, but that sound exciting, or perhaps simply to satisfy my own curiosity!

I also plan on keeping up on blog posts, as I love the medium and feel like having a blog post for each show is a great way to keep you all up to date with what’s happening here on my show. The music playlists for the show will also be posted somewhere on the internet, as I love having the ability to look up a song that I might not have gotten the name of while listening to a given show.

So hello, and welcome, dear listener! I look forward to an exciting and eclectic semester of radio awesomeness! If you have any questions or comments, please leave them on this post, or tweet me @davidmoore326. Thanks for reading, and I will talk to you soon.

David Moore is  a new DJ with KSSU Sacramento State’s only student run radio station.

