Theatre Is Not Lame… Sometimes


Cole Theater smallAs a mandatory requirement for my Theater 9 course, I had to attend an acting showcase last night in the University Theater. This showcase was put on by the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (or KCACTF) where nominees from Sacramento State show off their talents with about six minutes of material and one song. The nominees put on two skits, a monologue, then later on sang a song. Also, they were able to choose anyone they wanted as an acting partner for the two skits. All I have to say is, this showcase re-ignited an old passion for theater inside of me. Here’s how my day went.

I work at a burrito joint in Vacaville where I roll burritos. Simple enough, except for that day we were slammed (and I mean SLAMMED) with orders. I get off around 2:30pm, roll myself a tasty burrito for the road, and go to pick up my girlfriend who volunteered as tribute to go with me to the showcase. After a minor argument as to why she needs to hurry and why I am a “Butt” we were on the road. The line was long, but it went by fast and we quickly got seats towards the back or in Actor’s Terms, Upstage House Left.

Honestly, I had no idea what the showcase was about until half-way through the performance. However, I did not need to know what it was about because I was already captivated by some of the performances. These actors knew their stuff and could range from comedy to tragedy in under six minutes. There were some memorable performances.

One of these worth mentioning was a skit called “The Complete Works of William Shakespeare [Abridged]” performed Cole Winslow and Steven Amaral. It was a Shakespeare satire that had me laughing the entire time along with the rest of the audience. One line, Steven said “Call me but love and…” he continued on with mushy gushy words about passion, where Cole replied “Fine, I shall call you ‘Butt Love’.”

Another performance that I found to be quite strong and at a moment shocking was “Ruined” performed by Taylor Vaughn and Tiffanie Mack. This piece was about an African woman telling a story to a friend about how soldiers beat her and molested her in front of her daughter Beatrice, who was then stomped to death by a soldier. The sadness and vividness on Taylor’s face hit me right in the heart.

The only critique I would have is that some of the acting partners were better than the nominees themselves. There was a duo who I thought the partner WAS the nominee, until the actual nominee came out later and sang for the audience.

When I was taking drama in high school, we did a lot of older plays and musicals which put a distaste in my mouth for Theater. After watching some Modern Day performances and material at the showcase last night, I am glad to say that Theater is not lame… sometimes.

Thank You for reading! Check out my show “Shred the Gnar” Tuesday mornings at 8 only on http://www.kssu.com!

DJGingerbeard

