Hozier The Great


1uFq94O

I had the pleasure of attending probably Sacramento’s hottest show of the year so far, Hozier. Hozier played in front of a sold out crowd at Ace of Spades in Midtown Sacramento and it was quite an experience. I arrived to the venue an hour early and I ended up parking four blocks away because there was no parking. I arrive to the line(which wrapped around 4 blocks) and it was crazy to think that so many people were there to support Hozier. Unfortunately the show was all ages so I was pretty annoyed while I was in line, you know the typical high school kids that think they are cool because their parents are standing more than 100 feet away.

Once I was finally allowed to enter the venue I raced towards the front and got ready for an amazing show. I had checked out the opener before the show and it was a singer/songwriter that goes by Asgeir. He is extremely talented but I do have to admit that he was very mellow and kind of lulled the crowed. Once it was time for Hozier to finally come on, the crowd errupted. The lighting was great, they had lights that looked like candles which helped out the ambiance that played into the hands of Hozier. Hozier’s performance was absolutely amazing, he has the voice that is a mixture between Fergie and Jesus. He played every single song on his album and even gave us a couple covers including Illinois Blues. We all loved him and he even gave us a four song encore. It was quite an exhilarating experience. I have gone to many shows before and I have seen many big name bands but no one came close to the show that Hozier put on. The only complaint I had was the fact that it was an all ages show. I had the honor of standing next to a group of 12 year old girls that wouldn’t stop yelling at the top of their lungs and even a couple days after I still have ringing noises in my right ear.

Hozier sounds even better live and it almost seemed like singing was so easy to him, If he ever comes back to Sacramento or anywhere near Sacramento I would definitely pay any amount to be able to see him again. Great voice with absolutely great blues skills on the guitar. I do have to admit that I am not a big fan of his hit, Take Me To Church but every single song that he sang I immediately became a fan of. If you haven’t already, go buy his debut album because every single song on the album has the potential of being on the radio.

Performance: 10/10

Don’t forget to tune in on Mondays at noon for LA local alt/indie on KSSU

