KSSU: A Whole New World


Untitled-1by Dj Kevin J

Today marked my second show on KSSU and despite a few hiccups, I had fun. I think I’m actually starting to get the hang of this gig. I had my first guest host on the show, my work buddy Jackie, and her presence in the studio seem to really energize me. Or maybe it was the topic of discussion that did the trick, as today’s focus was on the Kylie Jenner/Tyga love debacle. Either way, I felt good about my most recent show, and it gave me a glimpse of the full potential this show could reach.

When I first inquired about having my own show, I admit that I had no real clue about what I was doing (with two shows under my belt, I still feel slightly shaky, though I’m sure at this stage of the game my feelings are not unusual). When I first started thinking about doing a show, I went into it with very little direction. All I knew is that it was my last year of college, and my resume needed some padding. I also knew that hosting a radio show was not an opportunity that would necessarily readily present itself again, so I decided to take a chance and see where I landed. Needless to say, after I went through with the interview and was granted a show, I was thrilled. It felt like for the first time in a long time, that I had been presented with a platform that would allow me to branch out from the confined space I sometimes felt subjected to while writing for the State Hornet.

Now let me be clear, my time as a freelance writer was an amazing moment in my life. For the past three semesters, I was able to meet people and hear about stories that truly opened my eyes to the wide scope of individuals that inhabit the Sacramento area. I have valuable skills and a set of friends that have given me some memorable moments, to say the least. With that said, I knew it was time for me to try something new and different, and it just so happened to come in the form of KSSU.

As I am still very much a new dj, I feel like stating my favorite thing about the station might be a bit premature. However, the fact that I was allowed a chance to try something that took me into a new frontier is not an experience I take lightly. I have enjoyed music since I was a child, and relished the opportunity to connect with people in new and interesting ways ( I am communication studies major, so, go figure). So, if I had to choose one thing to highlight as my favorite aspect of KSSU, it would be the fact that every Friday, at 2 p.m., I am allowed to combine these two things that I thoroughly enjoy.

Kevin is a DJ with KSSU Sacramento State’s only Student Run radio station.

Leave a Reply

