Common and John Legend Won the Oscars


oscars

by Dj Kevin J.

With the award done with for the 2015 year, it feels as if I can finally breath a sigh of relief. I openly admit that usually, I am intrigued by this time of year. Even if I don’t watch every show, I at the very least am actively on the lookout for news concerning one of the films that I saw, that might have been nominate. However, this year was different than the rest.

For starters, I did not get a chance to see many of the movies nominated, though I did see “Big Hero 6” which 100 percent deserved to win in my opinion. However, the other glaring reason I was not invested in this award cycle was due in major part to the fact very few people of color were nominated this year. Yes, this year’s Oscars were a dud for me.

The biggest upset of the year seemed to come from the dismissal of the civil rights era film “Selma.” The film was a critical darling, yet was essentially shut out from the Oscars, securing only two nominations. To say people were shocked by the move would be an understatement. Most felt if anything, the film’s director, Ava DuVernay, should have at least been recognized, but sadly that was not the case. However, despite this blaring oversight, the film did not walk away empty-handed. Of the two categories the film was nominated for, it took home the Oscar for the Best Original Song, “Glory,” written and performed by John Legend and Common. And it was that win that truly put a beat in my heart.

As a kid growing up, I remember being fans of both John Legend and Common. I remember Common’s song “The Light,” playing on heavy rotation when it first came out. It was something about the beat, paired with tap of the drums, that proved to be hypnotic. I had no real clue at that age about what Common was talking about, but that is song I can always use to take me back to a certain moment in my childhood.

When it comes to John Legend, I literally grew up with his music. The first time I heard “Used to Love You,” I was hooked on him as an artist. His rich, gravely voice appeased my ears in way that I that has allowed me to be a fan of his since his debut.

So, when these two artists came together to create “Glory,” I felt nothing short of moved.

What Common and and John did was create a piece that was so dynamic, it demanded the receiver acknowledge the message they were getting across. “Glory” is a song that emphasizes so many messages, and elicits such emotion, ignoring it is next to impossible. And to then see execution of the song, the melding of hip hop and soul, made me happier in a way I never expected.

So to the winners of the 2015 Oscars, I say congratulations, but know this: Common and John Legend took it all.

Kevin is a dj with KSSU

Leave a Reply

