A Billion Simoleon Worth of Memories


“A Billion Simoleon Worth of Memories”
By: Josue “Josh” Alvarez Mapp

On March 4th, 2015, many hearts were broken, directly, and indirectly.  The gaming industry was ablaze with talks as EA eventually announced, albeit after a tweet from a designer from Maxis Emeryville, that EA would be closing the Maxis Emeryville offices.  However, on this day, the news wasn’t immediately clear for many in the public, including myself, as to if all of Maxis was being closed, what was happening to our favorite Sim games, etc.  But after the ashes settled, it has become clear that only Maxis Emeryville was being closed, while other Maxis studios would remain open, and many of the intellectual property (IP) will remain in development with EA (The Sims 4 and SimCity will continue to receive updates to the game, and The Sims 4 will see future expansion packs). 

With the confusion cleared up, I am personally thankful that both series will remain alive in some respect or another.  If you didn’t garner from my two other blogs (my series review and my preview for the latest SimCity), I am a huge SimCity enthusiast (like many others).  The 1989 SimCity for the PC was one of my first introductions to gaming in the trail end of the 80’s and early 90’s.  Since then, plus SimCity 2000 and SimAnt, I was a big fan of Maxis Studios.  On the other hand, I have been very cautious and wary of EA since the demise of studio and series nearly equally important to me – Westwood Studios and Command & Conquer.  Thus, I was always cautiously optimistic about Maxis’ life and involvement in EA after many studios found themselves under the EA canopy.

I understand, now, that SimCity and The Sims will continue (for now anyways).  However, Maxis Emeryville can be seen as sacred grounds.  For me, personally, I have always revered it as a “Mecca” for the land where much of what has developed my creative and intellectual processes came from.

Ultimately, this isn’t a goodbye to the series, or some of the brains from Emeryville, as they are being offered opportunity for jobs throughout EA and its subsidiaries.  However, it is hard to say that everything can be or would be the same, or even along the same spiritual lines, as what has come before it.

Still, three cheers to all those who have contributed to Maxis Emeryville and everything it has ever done.  It has been nothing short of revolutionary and life changing, ever since the OG itself – SimCity. SimCity

Leave a Reply

