Seeking evermotion.


Guster_-_Evermotion_(2015)

Guster is back. In the beginning of this year the boys finally released their album Evermotion. It has been five years since the band has a released an album and very early on, it was stated that they were targeting to become something completely different with Evermotion. Whether that is a good or bad thing is up for debate and at the end of the day it is completely up to your interpretation of what you get from it. What I take from Gutser’s seventh studio album is a complete shift of artistry. The opening track “Long Night” manages to pull me in from the beginning. It sounds like something I would not mind waking up to on a Sunday morning. The track starts with a glockenspiel and continues with the guitar licks that make this band sound like themselves.

The easiest track to fall in love with on this album is definitely “Simple Machine” that being said you should listen through all thirty-eight minutes of this CD and then after that you should repeat it another three times on shuffle and only then are you allowed to come to a conclusion. I say this because after listening through it the first time I was convinced it was just too different to like. As I let the album spin a couple of times all the way through I was able to to pin point some other tracks that I believed garnered some attention. “Gangway” reminds of Guster’s old Ganging up on the Sun album, clean cut track that reminds me of a golden age of indie pop. “Never Coming Down” strangely reminds me of Edward Sharpe, kind of folky but with the right amount of Nord keyboards in the background.

As I said before, it is a little difficult to get into this album but I always say different is always better. If I had to rate this album I would go with a three out of five stars. I can only get in to half of it. I’m sure there is more to the album I haven’t tapped into but I think it is safe to say that Guster reached a bit more than I would have liked them to on this album. You can still hear Adam and Ryan’s sweet honey vocals, but the rest is just a shell of what Guster could have been with this album. Still, they are taking strides and they deserve some credit. Who knows, maybe this is like the Strokes last two albums it takes a handful of times to get into. If I could ask one thing from this band is more guitar and less Nords. They are great as compliments but if you’re counting on them to drive your album then you are heading for disappointment.

Evermotion is an album I would give to someone as a white elephant gift exchange and by that I mean it’s not a bad present to gift but it is not going to be the holy grail of gifts.

Mario is a DJ with KSSU Sacramento states only student run radio station

