Looking forward to The Avengers? I am.


AgeofUltron

I am not one to typically jump on board with “mainstream” events or films, but I must say I am looking forward to the Avengers, coming out in just a short month from now. Why this film? That is actually a good question because as a whole, I am not all that interested in action films, not major Hollywood pictures. However, I am excited for this film.

I will admit, I am a fan of Joss Whedon, who is directing this film. He also directed the previous carnation of this franchise, as well as creating favorites like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. In addition, based on the preview, the film does look rather good, and who among us can say no to a film literally full of superheroes!

Another reason I am looking forward to this film is a more selfish/personal reason. I happen to work for a movie theater company, and big films like this mean lots of shifts and hours, plus the movie theater industry is more fun when people actually come to see films! This one is estimated to do pretty well, so I am excited to work when it comes out this May.

Finally, I think that films like this can actually have a message that is deeper than simply an action adventure. Especially lately with superhero films, and in general, it seems like directors are taking a more human approach when it comes to creating films about superheroes. This is especially apparent in Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy, but can be seen throughout the superhero films of recent times. This, for me, is a really good thing because. Like I said, I am not as much a fan of the action adventure seen in a lot of modern Hollywood films, but rather the more human element seen in a lot of independent and lower budget films. To see these themes and elements slowly begin to seep into the movies that big studios back is, in my opinion, a really good thing. It helps to get more people interested in that subject matter and interested in a wider genre of film in general.

David is a DJ with KSSU

