Lights: Little Machines


Lights-Little-Machines-600-x-600

Lights has always been a favorite of mine, from The Listening to Siberia, she has always managed to capture my imagination and transport me to a world of imagination. Well-crafted lyrics with musicality to die for, there is really no reason not to love her music. So, rather large shoes to fill with her 2014 album Little Machines. But the question remains – did Lights live up to the extremely high standard that she set for herself with her previous album releases? In a word, yes.

The more that I listen to the album, the more I realize how much attention was paid to track placement, musicality, lyrics and overall production of the record. The level of detail and passion that has clearly been poured into the album is evident from the first moment of listening to it, all the way to the end.

There is a certain ebb and flow to this album, where each song seems to lead so perfectly into the next, and there is a rhythm to the album as well. Starting off slow and gradually building up, than drifting off again until the end, which (especially on the deluxe album) seems to tie everything up so nicely.

While I love the whole album, there are a few songs that stand out to me as especially noteworthy, and let me just say right now that I am not all that knowledgeable about music production and sound, so take all of this with a grain of salt.

One song that I feel I must mention is Child, a song off the deluxe edition. This song is a bit slower that most on this album, but captures the listener much like Light’s earlier song Pretend, off her album The Listening. There is an innocence to this song, and while listening to it, I can’t help but be a little nostalgic for my own childhood. And, as with everything on the album, the song sound amazing as well.

Another few songs that I want to single out are around the middle of the album. They are The Same Sea, Speeding and Muscle Memory. These three songs are seemingly related and based on their placement on the album (all together in the middle) I have, for some reason, associated them with each other. They do have a similar sound and meaning (of course, meaning is often subjective) but I think these three songs are about love, as well as moving on to new and exciting things. Like I said, all subjective.

There is really no way to describe the album in full, as I feel like I would never be able to do it justice. You will have to listen to it in order to fully appreciate the artistry and craftsmanship that has clearly gone into the new record from Lights. If you are already a fan, or new to her music, Little Machines is absolutely well worth a listen, and if you are anything like me, it won’t just be one listen, it will be quite a few.

David Moore is a dj with KSSU

