An Unexpected Inspiration


2015-05-13 04.24.08

Beginning Drawing, a class of few limitations. Never would I have imagined a college level art course to be as simple and as daunting as the one that I’m enrolled in.The class itself is founded upon freedom of expression–a concept that I have yet to master. I realized early on that this class would potentially be one of the more challenging courses I would take in my college career as an International Business and Pre-law student. Our final project quickly approached as we were given the requirements of a completely open ended assignment. We were to create a piece using any medium we desired of anything we desired.

Out of the endless avenues to choose from, how was I supposed to pick only one thing that inspired me? Thousands of inspirations find their way into my mind each and everyday, and now I was forced to channel one of them. Being the impulsive, ambitious, and impatient person that I am, I had much difficulty discovering a way to approach this nightmare of an exam. I went into this final project without a single clue as to what I wanted to create; I figured I should wait for inspiration to strike, however, I’ve found that inspiration only strikes when one allows it to. Like most assignments I take on, I realized I had to distract myself from directly analyzing the possibilities for this final, which would dig me in to a deeper hole. Once I began the in-class assignment of an unrealistic twist on an object in the class room, it occurred to me that I was trying too hard to make something that was not at all reflective of me. I was not pushing an idea that allowed me to express myself as an individual nor was I pushing an idea that I was completely comfortable with. In this, I had the opportunity to reflect on a manner of art I related to—one that I felt comfortable presenting as my final accomplishment in this course.

Historically, I gravitated to pieces that depict strong women in an unusual harmony with wildlife. While consulting with a fellow classmate regarding the endless possibilities of this project, I was given the idea to use my zodiac sign, Sagittarius, for inspiration. My mind had burst out into several directions; I had finally hit something that would satisfy my personal taste in artwork. The inspiration had finally struck. I began brainstorming different takes on the half-man/woman half animal properties of a Sagittarius by looking to sea creatures and potentially rearranging the traditional idea of this zodiac. I ended up playing it rather safe by going with a half woman, half deer  by utilizing black ink markers and water color paints to add contrast to the whiteness of the paper—a technique that I commonly visit. As demonstrated in the piece, I wanted to incorporate the sense of movement among the Sagittarius—demonstrating their desire for action, independence, and incessant ambition. The woman depicted in the piece is seen with her arms in the air which symbolizes her in pursuit of something unforeseen, a natural sense of curiosity and hunger for life. Being the impulsive, ambitious, and impatient person that she is, I realized that the Sagittarius that I had created was a twist on a portrayal of myself born from an unexpected inspiration.

 

When Mia isn’t drawing portraits of half deer half humans she’s a DJ for KSSU

