Macaroni And Cheese


MacAndCheese

Today I have made a concoction that you may have heard of before. The kids call it “Mac & Cheese” and there have been many variations on this American comfort food over the years. Melding Macaroni and cheese into a dish that could be described as pure bliss. As kids we grow up to appreciate the days we’re lucky enough to have this treat, but as we grow up many of us don’t let this delicious concoction go. As our culinary abilities improve we tend to experiment with this classic by adding a myriad of different ingredients and cooking it in many different ways.

Now I’ve seen Macaroni and Cheese cooked on a stove, with additions of anywhere from Bacon to Lobster. I’ve also seen it baked with extra cheese and breadcrumbs on top, and I have to say anyway I can get it is usually an enjoyable experience. Generally there are a couple of different ways to dealing with the cheese part of macaroni and cheese. Some people like to make the sauce in a separate pot we’ll call this the “right” way. Of course if you’re an advocator of the boxed Mac and Cheese method such as I am you’re probably more familiar with the “Easy” way.

When the Macaroni is done cooking we drain it and throw some butter/milk/and cheese into the mix. The heat from the macaroni is generally enough to help things melt together.

Now when making Macaroni and Cheese from a box I like to mix things up a little bit, i’ll add a different cheese or two to the mix, some bacon, and Ghost Pepper on it to add some spice. Today I used Oregano and onions to the mix. Which I have to say ended up being so delicious that I may never make macaroni and cheese without it again.

In retrospect I feel like Chorizo would have gone well with it so I may use some in the future to see how things go.

My name is Chris Diel and i’m a DJ with KSSU Sacramento State’s only student run radio station.

Leave a Reply

