Linda’s Chicago Style Pizza


Linda3So I found myself at a “Chicago Style” pizza place in citrus heights, you can find Linda’s located on Greenback near sunrise. GPS should be able to find it or the internet if that lets you down. Anyway, this was my first time eating at a Chicago style pizza place, but I love to try new things so I was very excited about it. The staff were extremely friendly, and the pizza came out in a giant round metal pan.

The Pizza itself looked like a mix between a casserole and a flat pizza that I would be used to, the cheese cakes the bottom of the crust while the sauce meat and vegetables are on top. After getting used to the idea of eating a piece of pizza with a fork I dug in to a very unique experience. It really didn’t feel like eating a pizza like I would be used to; the Chicago style pizza felt more like an open faced pot pie in a lot of ways. The first fork full of pizza was basically all sausage which generally i’m all for, any way we can get more meat involved in the pizza experience is a plus for me.

By the time I finished my first slice of pizza I was nearly full, which is just an odd thing to happen. I love pizza, truly love the stuff and i’ve never felt full after one slice before. Of course this is a completely different experience, but all the same it is an odd feeling. Another thing that got me was that I didn’t feel like I was eating a pizza, of course all the components are there but like I mentioned earlier this feels much closer to eating a pot pie then it does eating a flat-bread pizza. I’m not entirely sure why it feels so different, after all the ingredients should be more or less the same, but it’s not just the process of eating the pizza but the taste too. I’m guessing this is in part from having the sauce on top of the pizza.

Everything considered this may not be my preferred form of pizza, but I certainly enjoyed it and very well may go again. Linda

My name is Chris Diel, and i’m a DJ for KSSU

Leave a Reply

