California State Fair 2015: and Queen Nation


CalStateSignThis past week I visited the fair, I laughed, I cried, I learned to crochet, and fun facts about crocheting such as how crocheting was originally developed by fisherman to make nets. Fascinating stuff! I was probably one of the worst crocheters at the fair though, I was barely able to get things started without dropping everything.

Zoltar

I also really love the art exhibits, but because of certain copyright laws I couldn’t take pictures to share. My old friend Zoltar was there too! In the Science Fiction exhibit it was a pretty cool theme for this year it didn’t just cover old Science Fiction to the tune of old Lost in space shows from 50 years ago. There were also some relevant facts about historical figures in science such as Tesla, and apparently about how Google wanted to build an elevator to Space!

CheesePoppers

The fair food was a little disappointing in my mind, but that doesn’t mean it was lacking. You could get fried oreos to fried cheesecake. Personally I tried fried cheese curds for the first time and I found them to be a bit tasteless. Kind of like if I took mozzarella sticks and fried them, it was all just a bit flavorless. When I think about fair food what comes to mind is something very bizarre the unordinary, an escape from our everyday foods into a land of the unnatural or atleast something you can’t find at your local fast food place. I wanted something akin to fried scorpian or alligator. Or one of those donut burgers, but I couldn’t find anything like it. It is possible that I just happened to miss the stand I was looking for in favor of yet another place that sells garlic fries.

While I was there I saw a tribute band called Queen Nation. While I was waiting in line a full 90 minutes before they started I heard some people talking about them behind me. About how they had the mannerisms down and how they sounded just like Queen. Sitting in the crowd people had the anticipation of people who had seen Queen live, but I was not one of them, so I can’t say whether the act was faithful to the real deal. I have heard Queen many times though and I have to say the sound was pretty close, i’m sure they’d have some cheers in any karaoke setting.

All in all it was a riveting day, and I hope you all find the happiness that I did that day. Hanging out with Zoltar and eating cheese curds.

My name is Chris Diel and when i’m not at the fair i’m playing music on KSSU

Leave a Reply

