California Burger


Untitled-1The other day I found myself at California Burger, a burger place located at 8537 Auburn Blvd, Citrus Heights, CA 95610. As well as many other locations, but that’s the one I went to. Seeing as I’m a California resident born and raised I felt that a burger chain named after my beloved state was something I should check out.

Now after going in and waiting in a respectable line I was finally able to order, the first thing I noticed about the place is their menu is enormous. As you might find about 3 different screens at most most places displaying specials and regular food options California burger was closer to 5 screens with an extremely varied menu. It seems to me that they were creating a one stop shop for your semi-fast food needs. They even had some greek deserts in one of those display cases at the front, I did ask what one of the things were, but sadly the person working didn’t have any idea what the name was. They did look quite good though.

So my next stop was the soda machine as any meal needs a drink, although I have to say the machine is actually one of the more complicated ones I’ve come across. Instead of having a bunch of different spigots and a single soda attached to each one this particular machine had one spigot and a touch screen display with what I remember being over 100 different options for a drink. Quite remarkable that they manage to put so many options in a single machine without having to refill every couple of hours.

After navigating the soda menu I took my seat, and waited, and waited, and waited. I felt I would leave this place as a much older man from when I walked in. Now this is both a good thing and a bad thing, if you’re looking for a quick meal this is less then ideal. Of course on the flip side that means in this extremely busy restaurant they are cooking everything to order. Seeing as I had time to kill I struck up a conversation with a man seated next to me and he told me that he had been going to California Burger for around 15 years and found the place to be reasonable and as good as In & Out.Untitled-2

When my food finally came out I did find it to be very good. Since I was at a California burger I thought i’d stick with their specialty so I went with one of their specialty burgers, I can’t remember the name, but I did find it to be an extremely enjoyable burger. I can certainly see why the man had been going for so long. I also had a side of breaded mushrooms that weren’t of the same level as the burger, but I wouldn’t mind stopping at a California burger just for the mushrooms in the future.

All in all I really dug the place, and I don’t know why it took me so long to go to one.

My name is Chris Diel and I play music on KSSU

Leave a Reply

