Windows 10: A User Experience


Win10Earlier tonight I did my free upgrade from windows 7 to windows 10. Having spent upwards of 3 hours with this operating system i’m confident in my ability to accurately review it.

Now if you’re unaware, supposedly if you’re running Windows 7 or Windows 8 there’s a free upgrade provided for the first year after windows 10 came out. I suppose this is a way of pumping up publicity quickly, or to have people take a chance after Windows 8 kind of scared people.

Operating systems are like grapes, sure you may come across a bad one once in awhile, but if you’re willing to risk another attempt that next grape can be so much sweeter. That is a principle that isn’t necessarily reflected in windows 10. But it isn’t necessarily not either, keep in mind i’ve only had this operating system for a few hours. I really have no idea what i’m talking about.

The first thing I noticed going into this operating system is that it’s very much like Windows 7, like there’s didn’t feel like a whole lot of reason to upgrade. Which is a boon I was avoiding Windows 8 after they tried to make everything look like a tablet. It felt like a downgrade to me, I love my tablet but when i’m on a computer I want it to feel like a computer. Powerful, robots, capable of doing things my tablet cannot such as world domination, and playing chess. Ok one or both of those things my tablet may be capable of but you get the idea.

The second thing I noticed that that they’re using a flat design. Now If you don’t happen to be into webdesign or design in particular this may seem like a foreign concept. Don’t worry it’s not a complicated or anything. A Flat design is simply appearing entirely in two dimensions, there isn’t any three dimensional look to it. It’s like the difference between the latest grand theft auto game and something like super mario. Lately flat design has been particularly popular, but that’s not the only reason Windows was likely to choose it for their new operating system. One of the reasons for the popularity beyond aesthetics is that flat design does away with a lot of things like drop shadows and gradients. Which actually start eating up processing power after awhile. This may not seem like a big deal on today’s powerful machines, but the hard cold truth of reality is not everyone is operating on a machine built in the last 5 years.

The third thing is the start menu seems even larger, but it does look cooler.

Last but not least is “Cortana” which is meant to work like Siri or the androids SVoice or the Microsofts whatever they use on their phones. In all reality it seems more like a search that combines your computer and the internet. Although it is supposed to be usable with your voice and I guess it can make appointments or something. So that’s neat, I haven’t actually had the patience to wait for it to search anything though. After about 20 seconds I felt like i’d be better off just going to google or wherever.

Oh yeah there is one more thing, word on the street is that Windows 10 can automatically uninstall software that it deems may be pirated. Which doesn’t sound like a huge deal on it’s own, anti-piracy tactics are always evolving as are pirating tactics. But really isn’t that a bit invasive? I feel like this may be giving windows a bit more control over my files then I would like. What if it bugs out and decides some folder containing some sentimental family pictures should be deleted? Or if it deletes some program that I lost the original disc to? I have a few discs that are on their last legs. I know these may be a bit of a stretch, but really I just don’t like the idea of someone else having that kind of control over my files. I know bugs happen, we can’t expect software to be perfect. Writing a subroutine that specifically goes through your computer deleting applications feels like playing with fire to me.

The likelihood of such a thing happening probably isn’t that high so i’m not going to get hung up on it, but I will leave you with a quote from a Mr. Jeff Goldblum “…your scientists were so preoccupied with whether or not they could that they didn’t stop to think if they should. ”

All in all, I actually don’t regret making the switch, things take some getting used to and overall i’m sure everything will grow on me. The anti-piracy tactic doesn’t bother me that much, but I worry that it will bug out on someone someday and start wreaking havoc. Skynet had to start somewhere after all.

 

Now I leave you with these Immortal words.

 

My name is Chris Diel and when I’m not using windows 10 I’m a DJ for KSSU

Leave a Reply

