Nostalgic For Halloween


Halloween

Ah, it’s that time of year again when stores will begin selling Thanksgiving decorations and radio/television commercials will play Christmas ads and families will start planning the holiday season. That’s right, it’s Halloween time. It seems every year the Thanksgiving/Christmas spirit pushes and shoves Halloween’s spirit out of the way, but luckily my friends and I ignore those annoying winter ads (for now) and begin planning our Hallow’s Eve adventures. This isn’t just a celebration to the dreadful Summer heat being over, but the absolute joy of dressing up as pirates, movie stars, or big penguin outfits.

I think Halloween is always more fun and exciting for children. To dress up with friends and go door to door to get free candy just seems too crazy to be true! Then of course we graduate to teenagers and at some point we think that this Halloween game is lame and criticize the younger ones for something we did not too long before. And lo and behold we reach another certain age closer to adulthood and start to feel nostalgic of the once fun childhood games. Only this time, the clothes are more tight fitting, more short and more vulgar, and the gummy bears are filled with magical Russian happy juice. “The times they are a-changin'”

Halloween was fun when I was a kid and it’s still fun as an adult. What makes it fun is that my group of friends do not go for the sultry, short skirt look, but instead try to be the most creative and outlandish in our attire. Being the film major I am, I like to dress up as different film characters. Last year my friend and I dressed up as Wayne and Garth from Wayne’s World. This year I will attempt to be Ash from the Evil Dead series. Not only do we take our costumes seriously, but the entire month of October is our Halloween.

Ever since I was a teen, I watched the countdown of the best horror movies and scariest scenes from films. Most of which I got my movie information from, even without having to view the film. Everyone should watch Halloween movies, just like most people do with Christmas movies in December; it is just a fun tradition! Not only that, but to attend corn mazes and haunted houses and carve pumpkins. So much is involved with Halloween it’s too hard not to crack a smile just thinking about all these activities.

And yet with most people preferring to go out and knock door to door or travel to parties to have a swell time, I don’t mind sitting at home, watching scary movies and waiting for kids to come knock on my door. I love seeing other people’s costumes and how creative they can get. I used to live up in the hills near the East Bay, so I never had a real neighborhood that you could walk door to door to. We never really had neighbors in general. So when I tell people I love passing out candy, it’s only because I was deprived of it when I was younger.

I wish Halloween came around more than once a year, but when time it does, I am thankful to have so many friends to enjoy it as much as I do and not be the only crazy one to dress up.

DJ Jaws is a dj with KSSU

